knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

November 29, 2006, 5:14 am

I'm almost at the finish line. A whole year of preparation (the last few months of it, long hours and misery) for the largest tradeshow that hits Chicago each year (for you marketing people, our booth is 32,000 sq ft) and I've only got a day and a half of standing in a suit left. After that, I have a day and a half to pack up 100 workstations and 300 monitors...and then I'm on my merry way home--first class, baby!

The weather has been amazingly warm, so I haven't needed any of the hardcore winter wear that I packed. I haven't taken any pictures of anything I've eaten or anywhere I've been--too exhausted.

These last few months, I've only looked towards December 1, when all of this is over and done with. Now I need to start thinking about 2007...

|

November 07, 2006, 3:19 pm

I flew to NYC on Friday...basically for lunch at per se on Saturday. However, in those 46 hours, I also stopped at Sarita's Mac N Cheese (after seeing pics from Tammy), a bar full of Cal Alum for the Cal vs. UCLA football game, Sarabeth's for brunch, the 24th mile of the NY Marathon and Bouchon Bakery for dinner.

I'm too lazy to describe everything in detail and in my own words, so here are some (poorly lit) pics from my meal at per se--you can read the menu description for each item if you click on the thumbnail:


Salmon Tartare Cornette w/Creme Fraiche Cauliflower Panna Cotta Poached egg & white truffle custard truffle & black truffle sauce and chive potato chipseared goose liver foie grasPan Roasted Filet of Mediterran Beets and LeeksCarnaroli Risotto BiologicoAngus Estate's Red-Legged Partridge Elysian Fields Farm's Selle D'agneau Rotie EntiereFondueIMG_2047IMG_2056 Tentation Au Chocolate, Noisette Et Lait IMG_2065IMG_2074

The full set of pics from my whirlwind NY trip can be found here. Our lunch at per se was many many rounds of food, perfect service, great wine, lots of laughs with my best girlfriends, and to top it all off--a tour of the kitchen! All in all, an epic dining experience.

How does it compare to the Thomas Keller's West coast original? I went back in 2003 and I can't say that one is better than the other. They have different atmospheres (French Laundry has a country home decor and per se has an obviously NY/modern aesthetic), but the food and service are impeccable at both, making for an unforgettable dining experience.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact