knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2004-01-16, 2:56 p.m.

25 January 2004

10:57pm I never thought about how odd our relationship is (to other people) until I had to explain it to my new coworker. Yes, we've been together for 5.5 years. No, we don't live together, but we used to. Yes, I plan to spend my life with him--he's the kindest person I've ever met. No, we don't have any plans to get married or have children. No, he doesn't mind that I travel by myself or hang out with other people. Why should he? He knows where I end up at night. Our relationship might be a little out of the ordinary to the stranger's eye, but it works for us. We have a trust which gives us the freedom and space to be who we are. And at the end of the day, he is always there to give me a hug and remind me that life is good. Sometimes people just don't realize that what is right for them may not be right for everyone else.

10:23pm I don't cough much during the day anymore, but nighttime is a different story. I stayed up last night until 5am coughing, but thanks to cough syrup + codeine (thanks T!), I slept until 1pm. Had a perfectly lowkey Sunday: I made linner (it was too late for brunch), read the paper, hung around the house with my friends/roommates, went to the paint store, bought some fabric, used my sewing machine for the first time, made a pillowcase for my body pillow, did laundry, watched SATC, and knit a keyhole scarf. I don't have to go to work tomorrow--just packing and cleaning. I fly out on Tuesday.

And since work will be paying for my DSL connection, maybe I'll get cable/TiVo--Tracy makes me want it! I'll wait a few months when the bank account gets back in healthier numbers. Or I can just wait for my quarterly bonus. Man...they're going to work me at this place. It is a little frightening how others trust me so much more than I trust myself.

p.s. Carrie + Aleksandr Petrovsky = ICK!!!!

24 January 2004

12:27pm Ahhhh...I had a really tasty dinner at Rubicon last night. It is really nice to have some money coming in again so I celebrated with some friends. The original plan was to order from the Dine About Town menu, but just like last year, I veered off and went for a more expensive tasting menu. Started with tuna tartare (it was alright; the tuna wasn't as fresh as it could be), grass-fed beef with kale and carrot risotto (YUM!), and bittersweet hot chocolate with three kinds of ice cream sandwich (YUM!!!)...and some kind of light pinot noir. The creme brulee is also really delicious there as is the chocolate fondant. The desserts were sublime.

Afterwards, met up with friends at some trendy bar near Hayes Valley. I wasn't feeling too well, but I did go into the men's bathroom to check out the one-way mirror that faces the bar.

I love this new job that enables me to keep this awesome apartment. The work hours are a little intimidating, but I believe in the product and I like my coworkers. I'll probably be here a while. There are plans for an IPO in 2004. Wowsers!

22 January 2004

9:08am Happy New Year! Off to work I go...but first, this is kinda neat--a map of countries I have visited:


20 January 2004

10:31pm My abs hurt from what has developed into a violent cough. Hopefully it will go away before I jump on that plane. Before that, I have a few days of work (income!) and then return to the full-time working world mid-February. I'm excited but also a little bit anxious. Nothing I can't handle, though.

19 January 2004

1:53pm This cold is harder to shake than I thought. It has turned into a cough which I hope will go away before I hop a plane to Taiwan next week. I don't want to be quarantined for SARS.

We buried my grandpa this weekend at the same cemetary where my paternal grandma was buried in 1983 and also where my parents will eventually be buried. I cried more than I'd expected to, especially when I saw the most unemotional people in my family shed tears.

Despite being exhausted, all my cousins came over to my apartment after the funeral to celebrate grandpa's passing and to just hang out together. My cousins are awesome and I'm glad that despite the older generation not getting along anymore, we can still get together on our own.

16 January 2004

2:54pm YAY! I just got a great offer from a great company. I'm employed again! A BIG FAT FINGER to anyone who didn't believe in me. And a round for the many more of you who did.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact