knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-12-17, 5:13 p.m.

31 December 2003

12:54am Today has been a day full of overeating (truthfully, I've been overeating and not exercising since Thanksgiving, but who's counting. The weather has been too cold and rainy to run and everyone is feeding me). The day started off with a drive to Napa with some of my cousins for a late lunch at the CIA-Greystone campus (mussels, endive salad, and foie gras for 1st course, bay scallops for 2nd course, and dark chocolate lava cake for dessert). And a bottle of young pinot from somewhere. And then we went to Beringer for some tastings, Grgich was closed, and then we ended up at Niebaum-Coppola. Tasted and bought some wines there, and then was invited over to this beautiful (9 bathrooms, with home theatre!) mansion which my cousin's in-laws had rented for the weekend.

The owners of the house own some alaskan seafood business so they cooked us dinner: smoked salmon appetizers, salad with three large pan-seared scallops, and then for main course, the biggest crab legs i've ever seen in my entire fucking life. They were, no joke, at least two feet long, and 2-3 inches thick in diameter. And then dessert. And lots of wine in between. Oh, and we didn't finish lunch until 4pm and dinner was around 7pm. I'm stuffed.

Today was amazing. Happy New Year!

22 December 2003

3:23pm

  • I'm dogsitting Blanche, my former coworker's American Bulldog. I was quite delighted when a bum kept harassing me on Telegraph last night and she barked and lunged at him. This girl never barks...she even wagged her tail when her owner's house was broken into last year.
  • Moving is going smoothly. Unfortunately, I'll be without DSL for about two weeks...fortunately, I think the cafe next door has free wireless.
  • Not that it really matters since my laptop is back at Dell for repair. I am really frustrated with them...the first time I shipped my laptop back for a keyboard defect. When they shipped it back to me, I couldn't even turn it on anymore! And don't get me started about offshore tech support. I used to think those against offshoring were racist, but really...there is a lot to be said about the usefulness of common culture and understanding when getting help. Plus there is lag. p.s. Thank you cousins for letting me borrow your laptop in the meantime.
Things I need for my new apartment:
  • step stool (can't reach the top shelf in my closet)
  • small bookshelf
  • wine glasses
  • tv stand
  • dvd player

18 December 2003

10:51am Yay. It is nice to see that something you spent time making is being used--and liked! My cousin was wearing the scarf I made for her birthday yesterday--she said people had been complimenting it all day. Yay!

17 December 2003

5:13pm I've been fighting it for years, but I've got a lot of white hairs on my head these days. At least they aren't prominent along my hairline or part, I guess.

I don't want to jinx myself, but moving is going rather smoothly. Since I'm not working and only moving five blocks away over the course of two weeks, I'm not as stressed out as I usually am when moving. The only thing stressing me out these days is getting a job. But even that isn't too big of a deal...it'll happen sooner or later.

The Ozomatli show last night was AMAZING! They're the greatest live band I've seen since...ohhh the Grateful Dead. By that, I don't mean style, but the way the musicians interact with one another, their instruments, and the audience. It was fantastic.

Hopefully life will sort itself out soon. Now, off to dinner, then to drop off a few boxes at the new place, and then nerding out with a late screening of Return of the King.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact