knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

August 29, 2006, 9:26 pm

The melancholy always takes me by surprise. It can occur at any given time--on the drive home from work, in the bathroom at the ballpark, on a run through the park. The most random things can set it off--the homeless woman sifting through the garbage who happens to move the same way as my Aunt did; a small child holding his grandma's hand (as I once did); or the smell of Tiger Balm wafting off of an old woman on Clement Street.

Every time I open the storage compartment in my car, a one-inch tall plastic gorilla reminds me of my Aunt. While cleaning out my Aunt's belongings, my mom had found it in her top drawer. Every hunched old Asian woman reminds me of my grandma...although none could ever be as kind and gentle as my own. I find myself jealous of everyone who still has a grandma.

2 years later, and I still miss the both of them all the time.

|

August 22, 2006, 8:06 am

Spent the weekend in Chicago for a friend's wedding. I got to spend some quality time with some old friends who I don't see often enough.

Chicago

Can't say I had any exciting food this time around since I'm not really a fan of average Italian food...but this was also the first time I've ever been to Chicago as a tourist (vs. business travel). But I did get to do a bunch of touristy things that I never get to do: Air & Water show @ Navy Pier, Buckingham Fountain of Married w/Children Fame (I've been to Chicago 4x and never knew this was here), run along the Lake, and the Chicago Art Institute.

Now, here I am in middle-of-nowhere Andover, MA. Waking up at 4am PDT makes me want to vomit, so I snuck out of training and crawled back into bed. I've had some good dinners (though I never remember to take pictures) in Boston this week:

  • Fugakyu - amazing foie gras sushi and miso yaki
  • Finale - sparkling moscato, Just Peachy, and molten chocolate cake accompanied by torrential downpour and lightning (killing our plans to try to get tix for the Red Sox/Yankees game).
  • Teatro - huge portions! Beef Carpaccio & Black Mussels for apps (amazing!), and scallops w/polenta for me for dinner. No room for dessert.
  • Tonight we're heading to some clambake and on Wednesday, we've got reservations at Radius.

I've only run once since I've left the Bay Area. Hopefully I don't die during this Saturday's scheduled 17 mile run.

|

August 16, 2006, 11:43 pm

I'm leaving for a 9-day trip (4 pleasure, 5 business) and I thought I'd update my iPod and add some songs. While I was updating the software (before adding new songs) something went wrong and my iPod ate shit :( My computer won't recognize it--I've tried every single iPod cable in the house...there seems to be some sort of cable error. I've tried resetting. I've tried rebooting and reinstalling and all the iPod will do now is show the Apple icon, and then show an icon of the plug (that goes directly into the iPod) and an arrow. And I can't do a hard reset because you need your computer to recognize your damn iPod!

I guess I'll take the Shuffle...19GB fewer than I'd like. RRR I am not ready for my iPod to be a doorstop and I also don't want to pay for another iPod right now. I was perfectly happy with my 2nd gen!

|

August 06, 2006, 10:33 pm

IMG_1680

I am now undeniably in my late 20s (thanks for pointing that out, T). Started the weekend off with champagne, cake, and makeup at the Napoleon Perdis counter at Saks. Dinner at Tablespoon. 7 mile run with the girls. Lunch at a Catfish shack. Evening at my favorite winery with all I can drink wine. Waking up with all of my favorite people. Hanging out with my favorite winery's winemaker (while waiting for AAA to arrive). Hanging out drinking more wine. Too bad I ran out of memory on my camera (that's never happened before). A girl couldn't ask for a better birthday!

|

August 01, 2006, 4:47 pm

SF Half Marathon

Finished another half marathon--yay! It was 3 minutes over goal, but still a PR by about 5 minutes--not bad considering the hot weather. I knew that if the skies were clear, I would not be able to make my goal pace--this girl just does not do well in the heat. Aside from the heat, the run felt pretty good. Next time, I need to remember to pack 2 ClifShots instead of just one.

I also finished a gimongous event for work--185 customers, 75 staff meeting for almost two days. 12-16 hour days over the last two weeks in preparation for the event were starting to kill me. At least the hotel took care of us!

Perks of being a meeting planner

I'm going to sit pretty for a week and then preparations for our biggest tradeshow of the year begin...not to mention training for my first marathon.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact