knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2002-11-01, 9:21 a.m.

27 November 2002

2:00pm i have lost or destroyed a few cds. does anyone want to burn me a copy of no doubt's tragic kingdom or sublime?

thanksgiving is too much drama from my mama. actually, my dad. but the former rhymes better. oh well, i've stocked up on red wine and that should keep me adequately occupied.

26 November 2002

2:15pm i finally figured out how to print labels today. so i've spent a good part of the day organizing and labeling all my files. i also printed out labels for my DVDs (hopefully it will help me keep better track of them). i've always been a little hesitant to label my belongings. i used to read a lot of mrs. piggle-wiggle books when i was a little kid. she was this woman who would fix problem children in innovative ways. one of the problem kids was overly possessive and always labeled things. or was that bart simpson? people often point out to me that i can relate almost anything to the simpsons. yep.

25 November 2002

10:00am saturday night was spent with some rum and five girls leaning against a storefront on a strategic corner heckling male passersby. role reversal!

21 November 2002

10:00am as the needle went through my tragus yesterday, i suddenly realized that i had just broken a promise i'd made to myself four years ago--to never pierce cartilage EVER again. oh well. i usually sleep on my right side, but as this heals, i can't really do it comfortably. sleeping on my left side, for some reason, always causes my arm to fall asleep. what resulted was a night of tossing and turning and some very vivid dreams (almost like i was on larium again--anti-malarials, not anti-psychotics, jackass!). my brother came out to me...my mom slept over with me & j...the ceiling was leaking on my head...i was cornered by a gaggle of mormon missionaries (yuck)...i was late for a meeting. around 4am, i woke up to pee and finally found a comfortable position on my right side. ahhh sleep.

it also occurred to me while i was tossing and turning to invent a donut pillow, like how people sit on inflatable donuts when they sprain their tailbone, the donut pillow supports your head and neck without agitating your piercings so you can get a good night's sleep. don't steal my idea, asshole.

19 November 2002

4:05pm people in my office have REALLY LARGE ASSES. actually, the entire industry does.

12 November 2002

9:25am i found my new favorite sushi restaurant last night: Sugata on Solano/San Pablo in Albany. The sushi is incredibly fresh, the sushi man was friendly, they had new and interesting things to try...yum. its easily my new favorite place.

for those of you who don't already know, i have incredibly poor eyesight. for a while, i'd been using J's alarm clock, in which i'd have to get up and lean in to read the time (due to both size and dimness). sunday night, i bought a big red digital clock. now i can read it without squinting. but J keeps laughing...boy doesn't understand nearsightedness!

after going to the anthony bourdain lecture, i picked up A Cook's Tour, which i'd been waiting to come out in paperback. i'm only a few chapters into the book, but i'm already disappointed that his editors and publishers didn't bother to verify the spelling and accuracy of bourdain's vietnamese words and foods. first, half of his italicized vietnamese is spelled wrong or inaccurate, and i think he's using pho as a ubiquitous word for soup, which it is not. because i'm fairly certain that there is no such thing as crab pho. he must have been eating bun rieu. another dish he describes as banh which merely means cake. there is always a qualifier to this, describing what kind of cake it is. and he spelled a whole bunch of other things wrong. i don't blame this on bourdain, as he's merely the writer. his editors and publishers should have caught this. doesn't the new york times publishing house have a gaggle of fact checkers? i'm disappointed.

workwise, i have a very tough two weeks ahead. if i make all my deadlines, i'm treating myself to a massage. because i've fucking dreamed about work the past two nights--grrr.

8 November 2002

10:40am korean spotting: pete's (my next door neighbor freshman year in college) brother is going to be on the sopranos sunday night. neat! too bad i lost my hbo on wednesday.

10:30am anyone want two FREE tickets to the 49ers vs. Chiefs game at Candlestick on Sunday? I don't like sitting in the rain. I've offered them to my family first, but I'm not sure any of them are hardcore enough to sit in the rain either. So...up for grabs!

7 November 2002

3:50pm i had a very delicious dinner at kokkari last night. i don't normally like greek food that much, but damn...that was good. appetizers included fried smelt (like shrimp brain fries...yum!!!), greek salad, baked prawns (soooo good), olives, pita plate, and spanakopita. for dinner, i had grilled mediterranean seabass over a bed of something gratin and leeks or something (i didn't really read the menu). my friend had the prime rib and it was fucking huge and delicious. and everyone else's food was good too. and delicious wine. and delicious dessert. YUM. i'm still full. however, i'm still having residual cheese pain from yesterday.

tonight, i'm going to see anthony bourdain...but first, a stop for some brazilian food and to pick up some rent tickets. i forgot my umbrella. doh.

5 November 2002

9:02am y'all don't know how close i was to running a factory in china. that would have been some funny stuff.

4 November 2002

9:35am

  • I went to the Corte Madera mall in an attempt to finish my Christmas shopping. I�d never been there before, but some people had told me it was a good mall�but they were WRONG! All the stores are understocked and staffed by rich, clueless, high school kids. Should have spent the extra twenty minutes and driven to Stoneridge in Pleasanton. It's staffed by the same kinda kids, but at least it's well-stocked. Oh well, Wednesday, I should be able to get what I want in SF.
  • While in Corte Madera, I ran into these hapa twins that were my charges when I worked at a day care center in high school. It made me feel old, cuz these girls are now taller than me (not THAT much of a feat since I�m really not very tall). I took care of them when they were between three and five�which makes them probably thirteen or so now. AGH! That�s just a bit younger than I was at the time�
  • For some reason, my alarm clock was reset to a Christian radio station. Instead of static or an annoying beep, I get the voice of a righteous preacher. I haven�t bothered to retune it�this works out better for me since I�m much more apt to wake up and turn the crap off.
  • Found an awesome Thai restaurant this weekend: Krung Thep (on San Pablo in El Cerrito just south of Potrero). Real down home Thai cooking�none of that Americanized bland crap catering to white people who can�t handle pungent aromas. (I took J's redneck coworkers to a pho place once and they complained that it smelled like fish sauce. It took a lot of restraint not to roll my eyes at his boss.) The other authentic Thai restaurant is Your Place on University in Berkeley. The folks at my Thai kickboxing school swear by it.
  • saw jackass: the movie over the weekend. I haven�t laughed that hard in a really long time.
  • I had strange dreams again. One where a couple of Transformers were trying to kill me. But genius me, I figured out that squirting them with my supersoaker would cause them to fry (yes, I know this is not actually true, that Transformers can swim and survive water). The other one involved ghosts. Yuck. Sometimes, I wonder if ghosts are more likely to appear to those who actually believe in them and are scared of them. Hope not.

1 November 2002

2:30pm hooray! my hooded mittens arrived!

9:25am I signed up for a knitting class at the local yarn store. Those who know me know that during fall and winter, I swear by scarves to keep warm. However, I hate spending so much money on scarves and it's hard to find one that is exactly right for me. I know what I want...I just have trouble finding it. Thus, I'm going to try to take up knitting. If I can master knitting, my first three projects will be a scarf with pockets, a grey cable knit scarf, and a skinny striped scarf. Haha. We'll see how far I get. So far, none of my attempts at finding new hobbies have stuck. I'm a master dabbler.

Last night, I dreamed of ghosts again. They scare me.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact