knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

February 26, 2006, 5:06 pm

I ran a 10-mile race this morning (right before the rain started!) that left me with plenty of time to contemplate the concept of natural talent.

All of the books that I've read about running mention a "natural talent" (speed) you're either born with or you aren't. All of the training in the world will not make you the fastest person in the world if you don't possess the inherent ability to be fast. Alas, I am not blessed with natural speed...or any speed for that matter. All I have is diligence. My goal isn't to be the fastest--that's impossible. For me, the goal is to finish the race feeling that I've put forth my best effort and prepared myself the best that I could through proper training and nutrition. Me/Running: No talent but diligence.

On Saturday, I took a 3-hour diagnostic GMAT test. Now, this is where I DO have some natural talent. I've always done well not just in school, but on standardized tests, without too much effort, finishing early and scoring high. Having been out of school for a while (This girl's eyeballs almost popped out when I mentioned my graduation date. Then again, her eyeballs ALWAYS looked like they were going to fall out...botched eyelid surgery, I think.), I hadn't had to concentrate like this in a while--my brain hurt! But having done this diagnostic, I feel confident that, with some studying, I can do well on this test. Old me/standardized testing/academics: Natural talent, but a slacker. Me 2006: Enhance the natural talent with the diligence that I've learned from running.

I'm off to Tahoe on Tuesday night for our quarterly sales meeting and then Seattle the following week for some off-site training.

|

February 20, 2006, 7:32 am

View of San Diego from my hotel room

I was in San Diego this week for a conference. On the first day, the weather was balmy and beautiful...but all of the days following were pretty cold. I got a chance to meet up with a friend (I've known since 1st grade) that I haven't seen in a few years--it is nice to know that he's doing well after 2 tours in Iraq, having found love, and running ultramarathons.

On Saturday, J & I (along with 2 friends) went to a member event at Peterson Winery, one of my favorite wineries. They consistently make good wines at a reasonable price--nothing pretentious. I came home smashed with a case of wine. Since Peterson just moved to a former factory, there are other tasting rooms on the same property. We spoke with the owners of these wineries and they have the best job! I'd like to figure out a way to get into the business...maybe a second BA in enology?? I'd have to go to UC Davis though and the thought of living out there doesn't sound very fun.

My brother's on Jeopardy!

Finally, don't forget to watch my brother (Dom) on Jeopardy! tomorrow (Tuesday). In the Bay Area, its on channel 7 at 7pm. Keep an eye out for him on the third podium.

|

February 09, 2006, 9:53 pm

Because I'm tired of doing homework (won't March 14th just come and go?!)...

Four jobs you have had:

  • Barista at a local cafe
  • Customer service/tech support for an ISP
  • After school tutor for minors on probation in Oakland
  • High tech marketing communications

Four movies you could watch over and over:

  • The Sound of Music
  • Napoleon Dynamite
  • Office Space
  • Sixteen Candles

Four places you've lived:

  • San Francisco, CA
  • Redwood City, CA
  • Berkeley, CA
  • El Cerrito, CA

Wow, I really need to get out of here...

Four television shows you love to watch:

  • Project Runway
  • America's Next Top Model
  • Scrubs
  • Gilmore Girls

Four places you've been on vacation:

  • Ghana (West Africa)
  • Vietnam
  • Brazil
  • Dominican Republic

Four of your favorite foods:

  • Canh rau day (slimy soup that my mom makes)
  • Bi bim bap
  • Ribeye Steak
  • french fries

Four places you'd rather be right now:

  • Hawaii
  • Brazil
  • NYC
  • Paris

I need a vacation!

Four sites I visit daily:


|

February 09, 2006, 11:28 am

IMG_1059

It is beautiful out. I hope this means winter is OVER...but probably not.

I have been battling a scratched cornea since last week. For a while, I just thought it was dust in my contact...which made sense because the dull pain went away after a while. But on Friday night, after I took out my contacts, I still felt the sensation of a pin prick every time I blinked.

The last time I thought I had a scratched cornea, I went to the doctor who flipped my eyelid (how does one do that?!?) and found an eyelash lodged deep in my eye socket. So, I figured the same thing had happened and went to see the optometrist on Saturday to fish that pesky eyelash out. Turns out, it actually WAS a scratched cornea and I wound up visiting her Saturday, Sunday, and Monday...and now again on Thursday. I tried to take a picture for you all after the optometrist had dyed my eye to highlight the abrasion, but my macro function doesn't well enough.

If I hadn't spent all my money on a car, I would seriously be considering Lasik right now. Not being able to wear my contacts hinders my ability to drive (and get to work) and run. I've been sneaking contacts in now and then so that I can run and drive but that's probably impeding healing.

I head to San Diego next week for work, so hopefully this will resolve itself before Sunday. RRR!

I'd really like to run The Relay but am hesitant about joining a random team from Craigslist by myself.

|

February 01, 2006, 5:24 pm

dunce
Stolen from www.lukechueh.com

RRR! I got my first ever C yesterday. Sure, I wasn't a math or chemistry major, but I've still never gotten a C on anything in my life! WTF! Aren't professional courses supposed to be easy? NOBODY got an A on the papers we got back yesterday, and apparently this course instructor doesn't give As...only random Bs and Cs. RRR!

|

January 31, 2006, 3:05 pm

IMG_1047

I got sick again for the Lunar New Year (you Chinese aren't the only one who celebrate it, so quit hoggin'!)

As for my lack of updates, I just haven't had anything to say. Work is busy, school is taking all of my spare time (I'm taking an integrated marketing course through Cal Extension), and anything left over is taken up by running. Sounds fun, huh?

|

January 09, 2006, 2:41 pm

In the first mile of our run Saturday morning, J found this:

010706 J's latest streetfind

...a Totoro kleenex cozy. For those who don't know, it is a plush covering for your kleenex box. I asked him to leave it, but he carried that thing for the next three miles.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact