knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-09-02, 1:21 p.m.

9 September 2003

3:20pm Ch-ch-ch-changes...I can see the finish line and it is quite exciting. I'm considering my options (yay! choices!) and hopefully a holiday in Spain, Greece, Cuba, Dominican Republic...or anywhere really, can be squeezed in. It is one of the best feelings to be surrounded by people who support me and believe in me. Hopefully things will remain on the rise, because I'm sure they were getting tired of hearing me complain.

I'm reading Peter Mayle's A Year in Provence, which makes me long for the Provencal life. Maybe I can hit up Tuscany and Provence in the same trip. I can't stop thinking about olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Dreaming about reading a good book in a hammock under the shade of a tree...a lazy breeze cooling me off. I wish I knew how good I had it as a kid.

sunset at Salt Lake City airport

7 September 2003

2:51pm Today, I have neither left the house nor spoken to anyone--it is the perfect Sunday afternoon. I woke up around 10am because it was so bright in my room. My five windows face the morning sun and my white curtains do nothing to block out brightness. I'll have to remember to dye them a darker shade if I want to sleep any later.

I make myself a simple meal of two eggs sunny side up, toast, and strawberries that are deceivingly tasty. I'm in pajamas, my hair is unkempt, and there's still sleep in my eyes. Since morning, I've been listening to a combination of my own music and the noises outside while alternating between knitting and reading Under the Tuscan Sun.

Frances Mayes aptly describes the slow, simple lifestyle of the Tuscan countryside...somewhere I can imagine myself running away to after I quit my job.

* * *

I've updated the projects page with a few things I'm working on.

4 September 2003

10:40am I had friends over for dinner last night...I finally used that fondue pot that J got me last Christmas. I was a little annoyed with the electrical pot since I couldn't keep a satisfactory temperature, but the Gruyere Fondue with Carmelized Shallots turned out great...although after 45 minutes it started separating and didn't look very pretty. But it still tasted good. I served it with boiled small red potatoes, Semifreddi's country levain bread and sourdough baguettes, sliced Granny Smith apples, and some Bartlett pear chunks. For dessert, we had chocolate fondue (store bought because I didn't have the foresight to buy dark chocolate) with homemade rice krispy treats, strawberries, triple ginger cookies, and bananas. All washed down with some great red wines. My head aches but thank you, Lactaid!

Shonen Knife and Death Cab for Cutie are coming to the Bay Area this fall. I need to remember this so I can go see them.

I'm seriously considering enrolling in weekend courses at the California Culinary Academy. It would be five weekends of knife skills, basic cooking techniques, sauces, and other essential skills. They are kind of expensive, though, at $175 a pop.

2 September 2003

1:30pm

  • Someone is interested. This is encouraging. It has already made my week, whether or not anything comes of it.
  • I have never felt more out of place than I did yesterday at a punk party in Berkeley. It is where I imagine all the gutterpunks from Telegraph go at night. It smelled very strongly like unwashed bodies. I have an acute sense of smell, so malodorous people bother me. I've felt more at home in the Marina.
  • Oh yeah, I was in the Marina on Friday. That's something I rarely do. Strange neighborhood.
  • Congratulations to my brother who finished school!
  • I'm back into the knitting. I'm halfway through a random striped scarf (four colors--red, rose, white, black--using geisha and ggh esprit) but you won't see any pictures until Christmas. Everyone is getting scarves/hats for Christmas. Believe it or not, this actually costs me more than it would to just purchase the presents. I just spent $30 on yarn for one scarf. This does not include the hours of labor. Hopefully it will be appreciated.
  • Check out Bellaceti. If I can get my act together, I'll start selling purses.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact