knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

October 26, 2006, 2:37 pm

13915-320-026f

I think I'll apply for a bib to the NYC Marathon next year. The painful part is only one day, and I do enjoy the training (plus, I can eat whatever I want without getting fat). Hopefully, I'll get lucky in my first year applying and get a bib!

Happy Birthday to my bro!

|

October 23, 2006, 11:07 am

IMG_1970

I DID IT!!! Everything hurts like hell and things didn't go exactly as planned, but I finished! Thanks to my awesome friends for cheering me on, and special thanks to Jason, who ran with me for a key 4 miles, when I didn't think I could keep going.

IMG_1969

IMG_1968

|

October 21, 2006, 9:36 am

The marathon is tomorrow and I am SUPER nervous! The forecast is for sunny clear skies, 76 degrees. I don't do well in hot weather...it is going to be long hot and miserable. ACK!!!

|

October 18, 2006, 4:20 pm

  • A step in the right direction, albeit an expensive one: I just spent almost 2 weeks' takehome pay on GMAT prep courses. It better pay off, because I hope to move to NYC or Chicago in 2 years!
  • The marathon is on Sunday. I'm getting nervous now, although everything I've read said it is completely normal and that I've done everything I could possibly have done to prepare. Trust my training, it says. On my final run yesterday, my right shoe developed a squeak. So with every other step, for 26.2 miles, I'll hear a squeak. GREAT! I'm looking forward to seeing friends and family at the finish line.
  • Sometimes it is best to cut the toxic people out of your life, even if they are a vital connection to your past and especially if they keep appearing in your dreams. It is too bad that it is the end of a 23 year friendship, but I did everything I could...and people change, I guess. Except, I never expect people to change into assholes. Oh wells!

|

October 16, 2006, 8:35 am

the house we stayed at last weekend had its own volleyball court!

I've been playing some volleyball lately (well, the last two weekends). Before last weekend, I hadn't touched a volleyball since my junior year in high school (11 years ago). I played competitive volleyball year-round from 4th-11th grade, but quit my senior year, when I didn't like my coach...and didn't like my team much either. I had bad memories of volleyball, so I didn't really touch a volleyball until last weekend, when the house we stayed at had its own volleyball court. It feels good to hit a volleyball again. I hope to play more soon.

This weekend is my first marathon. Despite some creaks in my knees, I'm ready! If anyone is interested in cheering me on, here's information on the course. I should finish somewhere between 11:45am-12:15pm on the Great Highway between Fulton & Lincoln. I'd love to see some familiar faces at the finish line--it would definitely help me on the run down the Great Highway, around Lake Merced, and back...as I anticipate that will be the most difficult part of the race for me. See you at the finish!

|

October 06, 2006, 11:03 am

My first marathon is in two weeks and I'm pretty excited! Up until last weekend, I was questioning both why the hell I signed up in the first place and my ability to run a full marathon. After last weekend's awesome 20-mile run, I know that I can do this...as long as the weather is cool. Maybe it won't be my last after all! Watching this video was also quite inspiring. Maybe I'll run NYC, Prague, Paris, or Medoc next year?

Other things I'm excited about:

  • Going up to Sonoma for the weekend with friends for a few days of sunning, drinking, and relaxation.
  • Taking my GMATS and applying to b-school next year (no, for real, this time)
  • The prospect of living elsewhere for 2 years during b-school
  • Flying to NYC in November for a meal at Per Se with my favorite girls.
  • Setting travel plans to Taiwan & China w/J
  • My parents traveling to France & Portugal next week. My dad's leaving the country for the first time since he arrived here 30 years ago!

Life isn't perfect right now, but at least there are good things to look forward to.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact