knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-11-19, 10:30 p.m.

29 November 2003

12:45pm I have been eating non-stop since Wednesday night:

  • Pre-Thanksgiving potluck with my cousins. The theme was bacon and/or mushroooms so all dishes had to have one or both of those ingredients. I made bacon/cheddar stuffed mushrooms. Other dishes included stuffed pork chops with mushroom sauce, pasta with proscuitto and four kinds of mushrooms, mushrooms stuffed with prawns and wrapped with bacon, corn/ham/scallions dish, figs topped with bacon and goat cheese...that's all I can remember at the moment. It was quite delicious. I love bacon and hanging out with my cousins.
  • Thanksgiving lunch with my parents.
  • Thanksgiving supper at my friend's house--my first traditional Thanksgiving with green bean casserole, sweet potatoes and marshmallows, bbq turkey, and smoked turkey (in addition to oodles more)...and desserts from my friend's sister, a pastry arts student at the Culinary Academy.
  • Thanksgiving dinner at my uncle's house (I just hung out there).
  • With the leftover bacon, I made bacon and basil-wrapped chicken breastsfor dinner...YUM! Chicken breasts couldn't get any juicier. I'm not normally a fan of chicken unless it is fried.
  • Sangria at Cha Cha Cha on Haight
  • Sangria, pomegranite margaritas, and tapas galore at Ramblas
I don't think I need to eat until Christmas.

Oh, and I finished a beanie:

finished!

Next week marks my first full week of employment since the end of September..it'll be tough, I'm sure. The fun and relaxed me will soon be a thing of the past again.

a pond in Amherst

26 November 2003

12:58pm New England looks just like the 500-piece puzzles I got from the drugstore as a kid. Ponds, barns, grass, and a lot of skinny trees--quite picturesque. I got more than my fill at H&M and spent more time with an old friend than I have since high school. Stayed in Amherst (ran into someone I knew in college), visited my friend's mom's house in Vermont (an old schoolhouse where two of the property lines are brooks), and went into Boston for a day.

the backyard in Vermont

Boston is significantly smaller than I'd imagined. Travel is great...it relaxes me, exposes me to new things, and reminds me what it is I like so much about my own city. I'm moving again at the end of the month...apartment-hunting with my cousin and a friend.

trees in Boston

Oh yes, and a few new projects on the projects page: another labrador scarf, Wrist Warmers, and finished the fuzzy scarf. Other yet undocumented and unfinished projects: black mistake-stitch rib scarf with baby alpaca wool, another cabled scarf with yarn recycled from my dad's old sweater, a bag to be felted, and a striped cotton scarf. Hmmm...now that I've listed all that, it is a lot more than I'd realized. I still have to knit a hat in time for Christmas. Oh yes, and if you're wondering, no--I'll never make anything much more complicated than a scarf or hat. I came to the conclusion that I'd rather buy a sweater than knit one: it is cheaper and I can make sure it fits without investing too much of my own time.

19 November 2003

10:30pm I am not a morning person. Today was the second day of my new job...lots of adjustments, responsibilities, and stuff to learn. A whole new industry, an entirely different arm of marketing, and quantifiable job success. I haven't learned this much information in the span of two days since...I don't know when. My brain hurts. Time for a vacation--winter here I come!

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact