knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-11-01, 12:19 p.m.

my first silkscreen project

14 November 2003

3:37pm I learned how to silk screen last night at the Mission Cultural Center. I didn't turn off the flash, so there's a little bit of a glare in the picture above. My registration is off on this one, but I kind of like that. Also, excuse the drawing--it was an experiment and I had very little time to think about what I was drawing. Now that I know how...everyone will probably get hand-screened t-shirts for Christmas next year. And cards. And if I pick up sewing again, I can hand-screen fabrics. Oh the possibilities!

I finished up a few other knitting projects (I'll post them up later) and picked up some more yarns today at ImagiKnit. This is one of my favorite yarn stores in SF...when I get around to it, I'll post a list of local yarn stores with my recommendations.

I hope my productivity doesn't end with the new job.

9 November 2003

6:35pm Things I have bought since I accepted the job offer:

I'm sure I've forgotten a few items, but two pairs of jeans in one day--that's landmark! Finding pants that fit me is near impossible...me bothering to try on dozens of pairs of pants...even more unlikely. Now I need to stop buying things until my trip to Boston...where I will go apeshit again on tops. Oy...my friend called to tell me it is 27 degrees over there. BRRRR!

I'm going to turn up the heat and eat some lemon sorbet now...

3:01am Concrete evidence I'm turning into an old fart:

  • I've started drinking my coffee black
  • Foods are starting to taste too salty (Popeye's, take-out dim sum, fried calimari from Finas Estampas)
  • Music when I'm shopping is so loud it gives me a headache and I can't hear myself think (A&F and American Eagle)
  • I need a lot of pepto bismol
  • I used a coupon for pepto bismol yesterday
  • It takes longer for my body to recover from exercise
  • I can't eat Jack in the Box at 3am without paying for it later.
It is time for me to try bitter melon again. If I like it, I'm officially an old Asian lady.

5 November 2003

5:35pm (revised from earlier)

Loves:

  • scarf season
  • my new boots
  • shopping during off-peak hours
  • waking up when I feel like it
  • black coffee
  • crunchy fuji apples from the chinese markets. There is no such thing as a crunchy apple from a chain grocery store anymore.
  • Turning up the heater and hanging out in a tanktop and shorts
  • hot tea and pepperidge farm gingerbread men
  • my cousins
Hates:

  • having to wear socks
  • drivers who honk at me for no legitimate reason (legitimate honks will get an apologetic wave. illegitimate honks will get a finger.)
  • how changes in weather affects my skin
  • noticing every day how I am turning into my mother
  • trying on pants
  • crowded buses

4 November 2003

12:28pm Eight weeks of glorious unemployment and then I start my new job (for two days)...then off to New England (hopefully I won't have missed all of Fall already) where I get to shop at H&M...Thanksgiving break...and then full steam ahead back into the world of responsible adulthood. I'm excited about the job and the manager...just apprehensive about losing my freedom.

It has been a restorative eight weeks...I rediscovered all my CDs that I hadn't listened to in years...I knit a lot...I read a lot...I went to shows...Enjoyed the last rays of Indian summer...I hung out with friends...I hung out with myself...I wandered around town. It was a glorious eight weeks in which I finally had time to catch up on just being myself. I'm excited about this job, though...a little scared (who isn't a little scared when starting new?), but mostly excited. My natural sleep patterns (sleep around 2/3am, wake up around 9/10am) will have to be readjusted...but hey...I have money AND time for the next few weeks. Gonna take a shower and head downtown...I want a new coat.

Steiner & Pacific (I think)

3 November 2003

3:33pm My days of freedom, sunlight, and unemployment are limited...I got an offer this morning and after a little bit of negotiation, I think I will accept. Before I start, I will hopefully take a short trip to the East Coast and other than that, I will have to get used to the world of limited free time, congested weekends, and alarm clocks once again. At least I get to go shopping and eat sushi again. Not to curse my good luck, but I was kind of hoping unemployment would last a little longer. It's tough being awesome.

1 November 2003

12:19pm Halloween night...pouring rain...telling pirate jokes...reading by David Sedaris...accidentally wandering into a goth club...luna lounge with the friends...roommates' warehouse parrrrty. More Halloween hijinx tonight with the cousins...but first--Heiroglyphics at Amoeba. I woke up too early this morning.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact