knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-05-16, 9:03 a.m.

29 May 2003

11:15am

  • I found a place to both buy a sewing machine AND take sewing lessons. Apparently, if you buy a machine from them, they'll also give you classes. Yay! I'll try to stop in on a Saturday. Golly its hard to find a free Saturday during the summers...maybe I can run over there during lunch? Sewing Machine Shop, Walnut Creek
  • Amazing Race 4 starts tonight at 8pm on CBS. I had a dream last night that I was in it.

28 May 2003

3:10pm Things to learn/do (this summer):

  • buy a sewing machine and learn to sew
  • learn to cable-knit
  • wine tasting class
  • eat more cheese
  • hit up more restaurants
  • mosaic class this sunday
  • work myself up to running more than two miles
  • get more use out of my Canon SLR
  • read more
  • ...if only I had more time! Time and money seem to be inversely related, unfortunately.

27 May 2003

1:10pm

  • I scored reservations to the French Laundry! (in July) Can't wait! Hopefully, my expectations will not exceed my experience. Hype sometimes skews the actuality.
  • I've got in my hands a generous gift certificate for Chez Panisse. I went there once almost five years ago. I thought it was kind of whatevers. Maybe I'll appreciate it more this time around?
  • My roommate's car got stolen from in front of our house. My car will likely be next. RRR! Gotta remember to put that stupid club on every time I park now.
  • I've finished and started a bunch of different knitting projects: finished one hand warmer, halfway through a grey beanie for a birthday, and still working on the strap for the felted bag. Also looking into buying a sewing machine, even though I don't know how to sew. And how come all the patterns at Wal-Mart come in such HUGE ASS SIZES?!
  • I wish every weekend was a three day weekend. It would make work so much more tolerable.

23 May 2003

11:15am Its spring, which means me and my inhaler spend a lot of time in a lip-lock. This weather really really makes me want to sit around in my undies. Unfortunately, I live with too many people that probably wouldn't appreciate seeing me sit in my underpants. Good thing my cousin and my best friend understand the value of "underwear time." That makes for good travel buddies.

Two of my best friends are in town this weekend. Yesterday, one of them aptly described me as restless. I think he put his finger on it. The sensibility to be responsible has squashed my restlessness for the past three years, but now I understand that this restlessness has been what's wrong with me for the past few months. Some people are content with their lives. Others will always be chasing the unknown. I think at heart, I fall in the latter category.

21 May 2003

2:35pm This morning's debate: Bjork? In the end, I'd rather spend $60 on a good dinner. Yes, food is king. I was reading the Best of SF and I want to hit up Lulu for their wine bar. Luckily, I have similarly gluttonous friends. Justin Timberlake was worth the $70, though. I travel to eat. I'm heading down to LA in June and I want to go see Thai Elvis.

These are super cute. Too bad I live with so many people...sitting around in my undies is a luxury.

19 May 2003

3:15pm I'm still cursing myself. I ate too much cheese (.20lb of some creamy french stuff) for lunch. And now my tragus is bleeding, so for lack of any antibacterials, I'm sitting here with a kleenex sticking out of my ear. And while we're at it, I should tell you about the bug bite on my arm that has swollen to 2x3 oval. Its quite grotesque.

9:00am

  • I am not a morning person (especially Monday mornings). When my alarm goes off, I hit the snooze button and curse myself and the life that requires me to wake up at such an ungodly hour. When I finally wake up almost an hour later, I am still cursing myself. As I sit here, I am currently cursing myself. I'll probably like myself better by noon.
  • Saw a lot of movies this weekend: X2, A Mighty Wind, and the Matrix 2 (or whatever its called). That's probably more than I've seen in the theatre in the past six months. Christopher Guest and his ensemble are genius. I wonder what his next project will be? I didn't like the first Matrix and I liked the second one even less. Keanu Reeves is a ding-dong and I can't believe Hugo Weaving as an evil agent. Elf King, yes. Evil agent, no. I spent too much time in high school watching him as a flaming drag queen in Priscilla, Queen of the Desert.
  • I can't wait to watch Spellbound. Had they filmed it a few years earlier, you probably would have seen my brother.
  • I realized on Friday night that though I'm now saving my brain cells, I'm killing my liver. Tequila bar, sushi place for soju and sake, Chinese gangsta bar for Hennessey, some bar on Geary for Patron, and Sur Si Rang for more sake. And I didn't throw up. I'm getting better at this.
  • Change is frightening but also exciting.

16 May 2003

9:10am Dinner at Rose Pistola--tasty mussels, alright fish, and great wine. Dessert at Citizen Cake--I was a bit underwhelmed. From what I'd heard, I was definitely expecting to walk in the doors with the heavens shining down on fabulous desserts, angels singing and trumpets blaring. (Can you tell I was raised fucking Catholic?!) It was good, but definitely not as spectacular as I'd built it up to be.

I'm starting to realize a few things about myself. The only few goals I can think of: move to NYC, travel, and eat. I'm a loser, but I've only got one life to live. Take pictures, learn some more, read some more, eat some more, and see some more.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact