knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

March 22, 2007, 7:36 pm

Here I am in New Orleans...at the W...listening to the complimentary CD they left in my room...studying math problems. What discipline!

I really wish I could run a marathon this year. The only one I might have time to run is the SF Marathon. However, I'm training a group to run the half marathon, which means I'd have to do my long runs ON TOP of what I'm currently running with the training group, and I don't have the time for that. I had an epiphany the other day...part of being a leader (in general) is sacrificing some of your own self-interest/self-development for the betterment of others.

Running 400s at a 2:45 was definitely an example of this idea. I normally run my long training runs (15-20 miles) at about 11:00/mile...not my sprint workouts. Sprint workouts are generally sub-8. However, there I was on Wednesday night...trudging along at an 11:00/mile for our "sprint" workout. Of course, I kind of took them on a warmup at a bit faster than that. Still learning this pacing thing!

|

March 19, 2007, 9:34 am

Crap. I just realized I can't do the Nike Women's marathon because I'll be in Washington, DC. I can't do the Chicago Marathon because I have a wedding the same weekend. The NY Marathon (if I got in) and the US Half Marathon are the same weekend I have to be in Orlando, FL. So, I guess there are no fall races for me this year and the quandary is over.

|

March 19, 2007, 9:05 am

My schedule these days reminds me of my last two years in high school where I had crew practice in the mornings, school during the day, work in the afternoons, and then homework in the evenings. It was a jam-packed day with little respite, where I took 15-minute naps when I could before hurrying off to my next obligation.

Right now, I've got work (in which my travel schedule has increased), I'm taking a GMAT class once a week, studying every night/weekend, training for another half marathon, and pacing for the SF Marathon training team. In between, I still have my personal "50 in 365" project, my friends, and my family to attend to...in addition to the tedium of every day life such as laundry, tire rotations, showering, etc.

On top of this, I'm very tempted to sign up for the 2007 Chicago Marathon in October. I have only signed up for a few half marathons this year and told myself that I wouldn't have time to train for a marathon with everything else going on. I wanted to spend the summer traveling, hanging out with friends, working on grad school applications, taking a math class (to beef up the grad school apps) and enjoying everything that I missed out on last year when I was training for a marathon. I think I can squeeze it in...but it may be a stretch, especially considering I'll be preparing for some huge projects at work in the same timeframe...and traveling for much of late October and all of November for work.

Can I? Should I? I really like the discipline of training. At the same time, I also enjoy other things outside of training. However, if I don't do one this year, I may not have the time to train for another one until after grad school...

|

March 05, 2007, 10:38 pm

Turns out I wasn't sick--just exhausted. I know it sounds like typical celebrity/PR-speak, but really, I was just tired!

Studying is no fun. It really is difficult getting back into the swing of things after not having used this part of my brain in 7 years. Hopefully everything kicks back into gear in the appropriate timeframe.

|

March 04, 2007, 9:13 pm

All this travel is catching up with me. On Thursday's plane ride back from New Orleans, I sat next to a sick man. Now, I'm sick. That's the third time this year. Bleah!

Being sick makes it difficult for me to study. I sat in class earlier today barely able to comprehend the questions, which are normally fairly easy for me.

I travel again in three weeks. I can't afford to get sick again!!

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact