knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2004-06-01, 10:40 a.m.

14 June 2004

2:01pm

Dear MS Word,

I hate you. Please leave my numbers and formatting alone. I didn't tell you to remove them, so don't fricken remove them!

******

Dear Park Ranger,

You lied! That was more than a quasi-strenuous two miles. It was certainly strenuous and even more difficult in the dark. I recommend that you clearly mark your trails. Thanks for the blisters. Let's hope my toenails don't fall off.

******

To the people who keep leaving messages on our answering machine,

Are you stupid? The message clearly states, "If you are not calling for L, T, or J, don't leave a message." What part of that do you not understand?

******

Dear CW,

Your way is not the only way. It was nice without you around these last few weeks.

7 June 2004

11:45am I slept away most of my weekend, but did manage to run a few errands. I'm feeling much better but still wake up each morning as a one-woman snot factory. Now I have a lot of work to catch up on because I slept away Friday afternoon.

It is the sad end to an always too short cherry season. We'd intended to go cherry picking (well, I'd tricked J into promising me he'd take me), but to J's glee and my chagrin, a major levee broke and the highway that would take us to cherry heaven was closed. So instead, we braved the Sunday crowds (which weren't as bad as I'd remembered) at Berkeley Bowl (oh, how I've missed thee) and bought the last of the cherries, some white nectarines, and some bananas. The produce there is uncomparable.

Also made it over to Poppy Fabric and got enough materials for two more skirts with enough leftover for a bag, which I hope to finish before leaving for NYC at the end of the month. I always spend more on fabric than I intend to. This is not a cheap hobby!! My credit card balance continues to grow.

And I desperately need a haircut. Considering Oxen Rose (Hayes Valley) or Grasshopper (Haight) instead of heading back down to the same woman who's been cutting my hair since I was 16 (although she does a great job, it's time for a change). And I can't be heading to NYC with a mullet.

4 June 2004

10:12am

Good:

Not good:
  • Sore throat, stuffy nose, watery eyes
  • Such a short cherry season
  • Left arm keeps falling asleep when I sleep on that side
  • Credit card bill is out of hand this month (but I have cute shoes to show for it).
  • I need a haircut.
1 June 2004

10:57am I'm sick but have a lot of work to do so I'm working from home today, nerding out with two laptops. My work laptop has all the info I need, but I don't like typing on it or doing graphics work on it.


If I wasn't sick, I'd definitely enjoy this working from home thing. I don't have to shower, brush my teeth, or get dressed. I work in my pajamas with a cup of coffee. I listen to my iTunes (3200 songs on shuffle!) without headphones and there are fewer interruptions. I do like the interaction that the office provides, but sometimes, its nice to have some peace and be able to work uninterrupted. Of course, I wasn't planning on working from home today, so all of my paperwork is in the office.

The weekend was nice and relaxing. I did some shopping (99-cent pattern sale at Joann's, replacement sneakers, $30 Franco Sarto loafers), visited my parents and aunt, and went to a BBQ at my cousin's house, but mostly I spent the weekend sewing. What I sewed I can't tell you quite yet, but in the meantime, here's the skirt I made a few weeks ago:


Like knitting, I'd started this with the intention of saving myself money by making things myself. In reality, I don't save much since fabric and notions are expensive, and I actually spend more time having to make it. But sewing is relaxing and I have the option to customize what I make.

And I know this isn't profound or anything, but I LOVE CHERRIES. Saturday morning, I had a breakfast of coffee and about 1 lb of cherries :P In the last two days, I've eaten about 4 lbs of cherries and now I'm out. I got them at the Mexican market in Redwood City and they were the LARGEST, sweetest cherries I've ever had in my life. Now I need to go find some more. Cherry season is just too damn short.

Some pics from the Cut Chemist/Chali2na promo show at Amoeba a few weeks ago:



Hopefully being sick won't make me miss too many days of running. I was on a roll! I even made it from my house to 35th Ave (3.9 miles according to Yahoo! maps) without stopping on Saturday. Quite an accomplishment for me.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact