knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-06-17, 4:33 p.m.

28 June 2003

12:03pm A hot, muggy afternoon shopping downtown, steam rising from the vents. Cars, pedestrians, mopeds, taxis revving and honking at nothing. Cocktails, olives, and potato chips at happy hour. Skinny gay boys accompanied by a model-woman wearing a sheer shirt revealing naked boobs. Fake Spanish accent. No sweater. The Mission. Sangria. I love the city and I love hot summer nights. Unfortunately, I ended it all by throwing up in my own front yard.

27 June 2003

2:05pm

  • Yesterday, I went over to my cousin's house for dinner and it was hotter than hell in Noe Valley. In order to forget about the heat, we broke out some of her wedding wine (which isn't for another two weeks). From Bialy Vineyards--at 16% alcohol and quick to hit the brain--it tasted like delicious juice. Too bad I can't afford to drink bottles of wine that cost more than $10 all the time. Oh well, that's what cousins are for!
  • Fresh, sweet strawberries from the farmer's market--yummy! Too bad the cherries were wilting in the heat of the day...I would also have liked some cherries.
  • Happy hour tonight and then reservations at Limon. Sangria on a hot summer night--I couldn't ask for more!

25 June 2003

4:54pm I just did some calculations and if I continued to live at "home," we could have enough saved to put a down payment on a home by the end of 2004. Of course, I'm not ready for that that kind of responsibility yet, so I'll think about it later when I'm done living out my urban dreams. Besides, owning a home would lock me in to having a job, which I'm also not ready for at the moment. I'm only 24. I'm selfish and I don't even want to care for a goldfish at this point. Besides, I have a 401k and mutual funds. I'm already more responsible than I'd care to admit. Owning property is a flag of responsibility I'm not ready for. Oh, and I have the next 50 years or so to be responsible.

11:09am

  • Mmmmmm...sushi...my current favorites are uni (only from the best sushi restaurants, though), anago, spicy scallop, and toro. I used to love unagi, but since I discovered I could make it myself (it comes vaccuum sealed in the freezer section and you just heat it up), I've stopped wasting my money with it at restaurants. Me & J spend too much money on sushi.
  • Raw beef: carpaccio, raw beef sushi, that korean raw beef dish mixed with apple pear slices and egg. Yum! Where can I get good carpaccio around here?
  • I'm moving next weekend. While J is visiting friends in LA, I'm going to spend this weekend going through boxes we never unpacked when we moved two years ago. I'm kind of broke from moving...and insurance is due next month. Oh well, such is the cost of my own freedom and that's what savings accounts are for.
  • Saw the Hulk over the weekend. Ang Lee turned a comic into a strange art film. Jellyfish flying in outerspace? He tells a good story, but maybe the Hulk wasn't a good vehicle.
  • I'm running Lake Merritt again today.
  • I need new batteries and a filter for my SLR. A new lens would also be nice, but I'm going to have to push that purchase back til next year. This new sewing thing will probably cost me some money in supplies...but I'll get handbags as returns.
  • Once I have my fill of renting in SF, it'll be time to investigate condos. I don't want the responsibility of owning a house...and finding an affordable one would push me into the outskirts of bumblefuck.

20 June 2003

10:04am Yesterday, I ran all the way around Lake Merritt. The running part, which I expected to be much more painful, was pretty easy. What I didn't know was that there are ducks and pigeons EVERYWHERE! Their shit litters the paths and the birds densely line the walkways. Its a good run, but I might have a heart attack being surrounded by all those birds. Anyone who knows me knows that I'm deathly afraid of all birds except for the small flightless penguin. And have I mentioned the area is littered with feathers? FUCKING DISGUSTING!!!


at the mosaic class, there were some cute purses made of plastic with collages inside

17 June 2003

5:20pm WHAT THE FRICK. That's twice I've tried to post the mosaic update on the projects page and its been eaten up. First was because I clicked on a link, thus losing my Web-updated entry. Second time was because my computer stalled. I saved it, but I guess it didn't take, because the page opens up blank. Gatdangit, time to hit the gym.

4:40pm So I'm moving to the city at the beginning of July. I'll have 288 square feet with a fireplace to call my own, no parking, and two roommates while J's official residence will still be in the East Bay. People think this is weird, but I like the idea. We've been living together for almost five years. I'm excited to have my own room for a while (no dirty socks!) and a kitchen I can cook in: where my stainless steel pots will not be defaced with a knife used as a stir-fry tool and forks in the drying rack won't still have crud on them. It just occurred to me that since we moved into that house two years ago, I haven't cooked my tamarind soup. How I crave that sourness right now...I think I'll make a pot for us this weekend with catfish, tomatoes, and pineapple. Yum.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact