knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-06-05, 10:47 a.m.

10 June 2003

11:55am Oh, the joys of sleeping alone in a king-sized bed! I started the night sleeping diagonally (because I could). This morning, I woke up sleeping sideways. Its nice to sleep unconfined by the body and movements of another person. It can get a little cold, though.

9 June 2003

8:22pm Scroll down for a pic from the Justified/Stripped show. I should have taken more pictures...I didn't think they were turning out.

And I still need to clean off the mirror, but here is the grouted mosaic. Next time, I won't grout in the dark; it got a little difficult to see after a while. I wasn't sure what consistency the grout should have been, so I think I made it a little too dry and it cracked in a few places, but not bad for my first attempt!


i finished grouting!

9:35am

  • Hey! That's Pete's bro in the VW GTI commercial...I think its great that we're seeing more Asian Americans in the mainstream media. Did anyone else notice in Matrix 2 and X2 that there were a lot of random Asian Americans? And none with gratuitous accents? I was secretly delighted that the keymaster (or whatever he's called) in the Matrix spoke impeccable English.
  • Bought a sewing machine this weekend: the Janome 4612 Travel Mate from the Sewing Machine Shop in Walnut Creek. My mom has a (pea green) Babylock serger she said I could have. As I learn to sew, I'll probably invade her stash of supplies. She doesn't have as much time to sew these days, so most of what she does is just repairs and alterations. She has more than one of everything, anyway. Gosh, now I'm positively reinforcing her packrat tendencies. I'll wait until I move (end of the month) to set it up. Hopefully I'll learn a thing or two. When I set out to learn to knit, I wanted it to teach me patience. It certainly has. Forget grad school! I want to learn more functional skills...I'm sick of theory.
  • Finding old crushes on friendster...via Julie. Kinda proves my theory that all Asians in the Bay Area are separated by 1.5 degrees.


    our seats were pretty close. i shoulda taken more pics!

  • Saw Justin Timberlake and Christina Aguilera on Friday night. I was a screaming fool with the rest of them (more straight men present than you'd think); the only difference was that I had earplugs. Our seats were waaaay better than I'd ever expected. Justin tucks to the left, by the way. Christina's set was erratic and poorly paced. Her dancers were out of sync. Justin, on the other hand, rocked. He even had some Janet Jackson dancers and a brass section. Oh yeah, and Black Eyed Peas opened...what a nice surprise!
  • Grouted my mosaic but I forgot to take pictures again. I can easily say that grouting is my least favorite part!
  • J comes back tonight--hooray! Oh, and his bro just got a lab puppy. It humped my leg.

6 June 2003

11:17am Tonight, I have a date with Justin Timberlake! I was almost done with my mosaic entry for the projects page but one long-haired japanese dude done screwed me up.

J is in Vegas with the boys for the weekend. Sometimes, its nice when he's gone...it makes me remember what it is that I love about him so much.



5 June 2003

10:55am The domain is finally back up, so pictures are working again. Above is a picture of the mosaic mirror I made on Sunday. I haven't grouted it yet, and I didn't do a very good job of documenting the process (having too much fun smashing tiles!) but when I get a chance, I'll put up a page on the knitting page (really its turning into a projects page). I've also finished a few other knitting projects that will go up there when I get around to it. Oh! And look:



My mom bought me old sewing books! Twenty-five cents each, she bragged. I'm going to the sewing machine shop to check out machines this weekend. And I might want to check out Joseph's Studio for sewing lessons, unless anyone has better ideas.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact