knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

June 24, 2006, 4:41 pm

This morning, I logged in a nine mile run along Ocean Beach. Now, all of my Saturday morning runs involve coming across marathon training groups (AIDS or TNT), which I think is great! They're getting people to exercise and raising money for a cause. However, my only complaint (and the same complaint I had last year at the Nike Marathon) is that they seem to fail to teach their runners road/track etiquette. At the track, their slow runners are often on the inside lane, which is always reserved for the elite or for passing. They walk across the track without looking at oncoming traffic. On the trails, they take up the entire path, hindering other peoples' ability to pass (and blocking oncoming foot traffic).

On the path this morning, I got sick of having to weave and pass, so I just played chicken with runners coming towards me. I was as far right as I could be without running in the dirt, so it was up to them to move (my glares may have helped?). Luckily, they moved...because I was grumpy and ready to fight (still haven't ever gotten into a real fight...not that I really want to).

When I got home, I stretched out, took a long hot shower, baked some cupcakes, threw in some laundry, and watched Argentina v. Mexico. Unfortunately, Tivo switched to another program during overtime, so I missed the game-winning goal (took me a while to figure out what channel it was on). Nuts!

|

June 23, 2006, 11:39 am

we're shiny cuz it was hot!

J turned 30 yesterday!!! We celebrated with a soccer, beer, and crab feast and will celebrate again on Saturday.

Work has been nutso butso lately. Hopefully I can keep it from leaking into my normal life.

don't ask what's going on here

|

June 19, 2006, 2:40 pm

Father's Day dinner

We had Father's Day dinner last night instead of the usual lunch so that I could run a 10k, watch the last 20 minutes of the Brasil game, and then jet down to Stanfurd for my friend's graduation.

Hubert's Stanfurd graduation

With my promotion, the scope of my responsibility grows to include our 200-person user group meeting. Usually, there's another person in my department that handles all of the events while I handle the communications stuff. Now I'm in charge of both. Planning this event makes me even MORE averse to having a full-blown wedding. $45 for a bottle of $10 wine? $20 corkage fee? $85 for a crappy catered meal?! $30k just for dinner? YEAH RIGHT! Nope, not for me, don't want to deal with this crap...especially on my own dime.

And completely unrelated, who has some Emmylou Harris they can send me?

|

June 12, 2006, 12:56 pm

It's that time again--I've been struck with World Cup fever! Although I've never played soccer and don't know all of the rules, I still can't help but be captivated by the World Cup every 4 years. I spent all weekend watching the matches (woke up very early on Saturday and Sunday to catch all 3 matches each day) and can't wait to get home to catch the Tivo'd games (even though I already know the results). I'm not sure how I'll squeeze in 3 matches every day after working and running--this is when I really wish my Tivo had a larger memory. I guess I'll just have to watch some and fast forward some.

I love watching the aggression, the crazy tackles, and the magnificent goals. I love that each team carries the pride of a nation--even if most people in the U.S. couldn't care less. It is super exciting and I kind of wish I was in Germany...although I hate crowds and am kinda scared of soccer hooligans and the potential melee.

My favorite player thus far is Crouch--a 6'7" player on England's team. He's surprisingly fast and agile considering his freakish height AND he does the robot every time he scores a goal.

|

June 05, 2006, 4:11 pm

I've been at home sick with the flu since Friday. Friday was by far the worst day, with J & I both alternating between sweats and chills (we were always opposite). I felt better on Saturday morning, but that night, I felt horrible again. I got all dressed for work this morning, but J suggested that I stay home today too since I'm hacking and coughing (kind of gross to go into the office like that, I guess).

I AM GOING STIR CRAZY! My room is clean, my bathroom is clean, I've vaccuumed the living room, I've done all the work from home that I possibly can (network is too slow to do everything I want to on the shared drives). I'm ready for this to be over, but it'll probably be a few more days. My head is super congested, my ears are ringing, and my ribs/abs are sore from vomiting/coughing.

My running is behind now, too. With time in Vegas and time being sick, I'll have lost almost 2 weeks of training by the time this is all over. I missed my long run this weekend too. At least this is still early in the training, so I can make it up later without hurting too much.

Nice way to kick off a promotion, eh?

|

June 01, 2006, 9:26 pm

Fucking expensive gas on I-15

This picture was taken over Memorial Day Weekend on I-15 somewhere between Las Vegas and LA. On the way out, we saw gas that was $4.09 for premium (which J's Forester takes) and were shellshocked to see the prices on our way back home. This gas station was in the middle of nowhere...complete with a toothless local sitting on a picnic bench nearby glaring at us as we drove by and mouthing something incomprehensible (I can't read lips).

Good news today: I've accepted a huge promotion with my current employer managing my department. This was pretty unexpected and I'm really excited about it--new challenges and opportunities. In fact, I'd interviewed at another company and gotten an offer on Friday. Everything kind of fell into my lap at the same time, so there was a lot to consider. Luckily, I had the power position in both situations and had the long weekend to ponder my options and develop my negotiation strategy.

I may have considered the outside offer more seriously, but the Sr. VP that I interviewed with was such a complete jerk, that my decision was pretty easy. He told me, "Sociology--what a bullshit major. That's for lazy people who don't want to work." Jackass. He also gave me stupid shit brain teasers (How would you explain the internet to an isolated culture?) that meant nothing and kept me waiting for over an hour (until 7pm last Thursday). Screw that! I'm glad things have worked out the way they have.

My reward? I'm treating myself to a massage. With the salary increase, I should be able to pay off my car and student loans within a few months and significantly contribute to my savings. I hope not to change my lifestyle at all so that I can save more cash--either to go to grad school, travel around the world, or buy a home. Who knows?

And if this opportunity doesn't work out? I'm no stranger to quitting.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact