knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2005-06-10, 10:19 a.m.

June 29, 2005

11:25pm Some pics from June:

Orlando...flat swampy wasteland...you never know where you are Minh & J lit by spotlights in front of PacBell Park a Poivre truffle from Vosges--dark chocolate with peppercorns

June 28, 2005

10:52pm I'm back from Chicago...quite tired. I have pictures of chocolate for you (a dark chocolate truffle with peppercorns because I already ate the one with the Hungarian Paprika before I remembered to photograph), but I'll post those tomorrow. I've also posted a link to my training log on the left. You can read about my plane ride with Mr. Shit Pants there.

Despite the weather, I really really like Chicago and consider it among my top 3 favorites in the U.S. (NYC & SF are the others, and I really like New Orleans but it is more like somewhere I'd spend my winters or retire to). If I ever continue forward with my MBA plans, I'd loooove to go to Northwestern...not just cuz it is a really good school but because it is in a really cool city. I am using really a lot in this entry...and I'm tired so I won't go back and revise. Rilly, good night!

Oh, I'm trying to win some luggage on ebay but have already been outbid on three separate auctions at the very last minute. ARGH!

June 23, 2005

9:55pm Current obsessions? Cherries (I've eaten almost 5 lbs. in the last 4 days) and eBay! I know most people went through their eBay phases years ago, but I never did. Until a few weeks ago, I'd only ever bought one thing...I think it was a camera or something. But in the last few weeks, I've made a few purchases and am obsessively looking through everything from Seychelles to luggage and lesportsac bags. Hopefully this doesn't get out of hand. I'm supposed to be saving money!

Ooh. And since I'll be in Chicago next week, I'm going to head to Vosges Chocolate. I think I've seen them featured on Food Network but never had any until my coworker handed me a $6 candy bar--yum, spicy!! I also want to try the Black Pearl Bar (dark chocolate with Japanese ginger, wasabi, black sesame seeds). Yes, I know they sell this stuff at Neiman Marcus here, but I want to go to the source (since I'll already be there anyway). I don't normally eat candy, but over the past two days, I've bought a toblerone, a package of wine gums (why are they called that?!), three lychee Hi-Chews, and a box of Pocky...so much for avoiding HFCS.

June 20, 2005

1:07pm I never thought I'd say this, but I am tired of traveling! Actually, it isn't the traveling...mostly just the flying. I don't mind being in new places all the time. I love exploring new cities, trying new foods, seeing new sites, and just being in new environments. I just don't like sitting on a plane, waiting at airports, flight delays, going through security checks (especially other travelers who hold up the process--PEOPLE! the rules haven't changed!), cramped seats, no airplane food, crying babies...ok, you get it.

Since the beginning of 2005, I've been to Dallas, Chicago, Las Vegas, NYC (twice), Orlando, the Dominican Republic, and Philadelphia. Before the end of the summer, I'll also be in LA and back in Chicago. I'm never fully unpacked and I'm always getting sick. While I love travel for pleasure, I can definitely say that business travel is getting old. Oh, and I'm sick again!

June 16, 2005

4:56pm So it turns out it wasn't allergies--I have a cold! And tonight, I'm flying out to Philly...with a runny nose. I think the worst is over, but I will need to pack plenty of kleenex. I haven't been able to run at all this week either due to my cold...some cross-country machine at the gym...but probably no running until Sunday afternoon. I have a 10k next weekend...hope I'm ready!

Also, AIM isn't working at work these days...and until I figure out how to get the HTTP proxy to work with Trillian, I'm only on Yahoo. You can find me there. Have a nice weekend!

June 14, 2005

8:30pm Things that suck: allergies and my big(ger) feet. My first season with allergies and my throat hurts, my sinuses are congested, my eyes itch, and my nose won't stop running. Ugh. And I went to the running store on Saturday and they fit me into the biggest shoes to date! Ah well, but they are comfy (Brooks Addiction 6) and I ran my fastest 5k EVER on Sunday! I shaved my split by over 25 seconds, coming in well over a minute faster than my previous best. Wow! My speedwork and weights regimen must be working.

walking through hot coals

June 10, 2005

10:20am We had our sales training this week and there was a "team bonding" event. So we had to walk through hot coals (but not before enduring some hippie speak disguised as corporate pep talk)...although from the looks of my picture, it appears as if I am only walking through ashes.

And now, for a look down my throat:

ahhhhhhh

June 8, 2005

2:38pm In the last two weeks, I've been in both NYC and Orlando. Next week, I'll be in Philly and the week after that, I'll be in Chicago. For a homebody like me, that's a bit too much. The list of things I need/want to do but haven't been able to get to due to time:

  • Go to Runner's High (Menlo Park) and pick up a pair of Brooks Addiction (I have the trail version of this shoe and love it). What I love about Runner's High is that they'll custom fit the inserts for you...and since I have low/weak arches, the right inserts can work wonders.
  • Check out the Nordstrom sale...pick up a pair of black heels/loafers for work.
  • Patch up my jeans--my AGs are fraying at the seams. Maybe it is also time to pick up another pair at the Blue Jean Bar
  • Go to Sports Basement to pick up another box of fruit bar thingies.
  • Track down some cherries! It is cherry season!
  • Go to Trader Joe's and stock up on basic necessities.
  • Spackle the giant crack on my bedroom wall and paint it.
  • Finish sewing my purse
  • Run, run, run. Train for the upcoming 10k that includes the sand ladder at Baker Beach
  • Vaccuum my car
  • Take stuff to the dry cleaner's (some of the stuff has been sitting around for a few weeks now)
  • Hang out with my mom and volunteer at the soup kitchen.

My life is not mine these days. But I did have the BEST live scallop sushi last night.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact