knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2004-07-05, 4:32 p.m.

15 July 2004

10:23am They moved my grandma to the subacute care center, took her off any life-saving aids, and are giving her pain management meds. The adults are finally letting go and doing what they should have six years ago.

My aunt is no longer receiving chemo or radiation. She's also on a pain management regime. She's skeletal and doesn't eat much, but my other aunt told me that she eats more when the kids are around. So, yesterday, I hung out with her while she ate a tiny tiny tiny bowl of pho, which she said counts as a big bowl for her.

The only two people my dad has ever stopped to listen to will be gone soon. My mom called me yesterday to tell me that my dad's diabetes has damaged his kidneys. Not sure what that means, but every time I talk to my mom, she keeps telling me to come home so that my dad can talk to me. About what? No idea. I wish they'd just tell me over the phone, but that's not my dad's way. He needs attention. Everyone's. Constantly. Positive or negative.

My uncle is also in the hospital.

My cousins are having a BBQ this weekend. Family time will be good. We can laugh at our dismal situation. After grandpa's funeral earlier this year, all the kids got together at my apartment to eat, drink, tell stories, and laugh.

Whether I'm hanging out with my cousins or my aunties, we're always laughing. I think grandma appreciates the laughter surrounding her bed. Even if it's directed at her. It is the way that she taught us to be. Laugh at yourselves and laugh at/with your family. We're all like that.

12 July 2004

12:22pm Seeing my grandma in the hospital always makes me incredibly sad, which is why I try to avoid it at all costs. I don't want to remember her this way. Yesterday, we went to visit her and her entire right hand had swollen a bright purple color. She's developed pneumonia and shakes with fear when she sees doctors or nurses. I haven't heard her talk in years, except when she's in pain. Two of the kindest women in my life are dying and it stinks.

On a less somber note, I ate a whole lot of food this weekend. But I've also been doing Advanced Tae Bo to even it out. I wish Billy Blanks didn't wear such tight clothing.

7 July 2004

10:34pm I'm full of Ethiopian food. I didn't finish cleaning my room. I still need to pack for tomorrow. I am obsessed with checking the evite. I got a cute mini stereo system from Target for only $40. I only have $72 left in my checking account. I need to pay more attention to the right things.

5 July 2004

9:21pm I added a few projects to the other page: skirt, quilt, and tote.

Some pictures from the weekend:



Finished sewing a tote (it's reversible!)



Man grilling oysters at the Fillmore St. Jazz Festival.



J and the happiest dog in the world.



Geary & Fillmore



Random, incredibly drunk Irish guy sat down next to us and passed out cold at the Bitter End. Last we saw of him, he was passed out on the sidewalk and another Irishman was slapping him.



4th of July BBQ at Ed's: Alden and two of his three beer butt chickens--the moistest chicken you'll ever eat in your lifetime.



J gluing fake gems to a plastic cup with a very manly glue gun.



Jamie, Angelina, and me. It was hotter than hell out in Walnut Creek, but we snagged some shade and some chairs.

|

2004-07-05, 4:32 p.m.

5 July 2004

4:39pm Some pictures from the weekend:



Man grilling oysters at the Fillmore St. Jazz Festival.



Man grilling oysters at the Fillmore St. Jazz Festival.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact