knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-07-02, 1:37 p.m.

14 July 2003

11:09am

  • 72 straight hours of drinking followed by a cold/flu and terrible headache. I'm at J's house because I'm too dizzy to drive myself home. Alternating between too cold and a sweaty hot--can't keep a satisfying temperature. I've been craving SPAM all weekend. Probably not a good idea to eat any, though.
  • The most fun wedding I've ever been to this weekend--the wedding was just so...THEM. Completely untraditional yet still meaningful. Plus, I danced with a boy (an older cousin's friend) who I had a crush on from ages 7-13. What my prepubescent self was thinking, I don't know.

11 July 2003

3:57pm Too much wine, not enough water. I woke up this morning with a headache, took the bus down to Clement Street, had some coffee, dim sum, and got a pedicure. I left my digital camera at Le Colonial. Open bar...yesterday, today, tomorrow.

When someone's car in the garage below me starts up, my bed vibrates like one in a skanky motel. Kids screaming from the playground across the street make me shove my head deeper under the blankets. Eventually, I won't hear it anymore, just like I stopped noticing the gospel choir on Sunday mornings at my old place. I drove by there a few weeks ago and now its a Jewish temple.

9 July 2003

11:00am

  • I bought bowling shoes yesterday. Of course, I kind of suck and have only bowled over 100 maybe once or twice, but hey...avoiding sticking my feet into icky rental shoes is worth the $30. And they pay for themselves after 6-7 uses. I think they're kinda cute, especially since they look more like sneakers than bowling shoes. I originally wanted them in grey suede, but the local pro shop didn't carry it anymore and J was successful in making me feel bad about not supporting my local business. We ran 5 miles before bowling last night. It was the worst 5 yet, as I had to use the bathroom the entire time.
  • My finger is still achey, but I fit into a pair of jeans that never fit when I bought them. I wish the Calvin Klein outlets weren't closed forever. Perfect fitting jeans for less than $20...I should have bought more than three pairs.
  • Busy weekend starting Thursday: wedding (of cousin) and birthday (of best friend).
  • I'm all set. Me and three friends will be learning to sew and making A-line skirts with Joseph at the end of of the month.

8 July 2003

10:40am

  • Happy Birthday to Scott!
  • I think I sprained my finger. It aches.
  • I killed a spider by myself last night.
  • I stayed up late reading.
  • It took me 30 minutes to get to work this morning. I guess 15 minutes was just really lucky yesterday, although 30 is still very doable. I wonder how much traffic and parking will change when school starts.
  • This morning, I realized what I like about living in the city is seeing random people every day and making up stories in my head about where they're heading next, what they're thinking about, and what they're going to do all day while I'm at work. El Cerrito was very quiet and full of old people. I don't wonder what old people do all day--I just assume they wake up, watch Price is Right, drink Metamucil, and then walk their dogs. There are more potential scenarios for me in the city.
  • (From Sunny) 26 things sounds like a neat idea. I can definitely take the pictures...uploading the pics and building a webpage for it may be a different matter.
  • It's sad that the surgery to separate the Iranian conjoined twins was unsuccessful. Before the attempted separation, I'd never heard of them before. They weren't in any of numerous documentaries I've seen or books I've read. Most of the documented conjoined twins have rhyming names, with the exception of the Hensel twins...who, amazingly enough, can play volleyball.

7 July 2003

1:45pm

  • I moved this weekend. I still need to get all my clothes that are on hangers in the closet, but I have most of what I need now. I couldn't find a belt this morning, though, so my pants are falling off. The bathroom is small--I have to turn slightly to the side in order for my knees not to hit the cabinet. I'm only 5'2"! I got a lot of reading done last night, my first night sleeping alone in my very own room. I like that my relationship works this way.
  • I have my mom's serger now. But first, I gotta learn to sew. Any projects will have to wait until this weekend's wedding passes, though. I also have to figure out my costume for the wedding. Yes, as part of the wedding party, I was told to dress up as a revolutionary. This promises to be an interesting and fun wedding!
  • Fresh homebaked fruit pie (a large spread of cherry, apricot, and quadruple-berry) and coffee for breakfast!
  • It took less than fifteen minutes to drive in to work this morning from my apartment. After work should take a little longer.
  • Went bowling and they gave us all free socks! I think I'm going to buy myself bowling shoes in the near future.
  • I ran a total of 24 miles last week--five of those miles straight uphill. Perhaps I'll abandon kickboxing for a few months...just for a change of pace. Plus, running with J is fun.
  • My parents don't understand me when I say "no, thank you" which then results in me being cranky at them. I wish that wouldn't happen.

2 July 2003

1:45pm I ran 7 miles with J yesterday. Holy shit. And somehow in the last two months, J got into better shape than me. The most I'd ever run before that was 3.5 miles. Halfway through, when I thought the worst was over, I looked up and realized there was about another mile left...straight uphill. Anyone who knows El Cerrito...I ran up Moeser. It sucked. I saw a dead possum and almost vomited. But I made it, and I'm doing it again today. My ass hurts. Tomorrow, I start moving.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact