knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

January 30, 2007, 3:23 pm

Hiking Diamond Head

Just got back from my first trip ever to Hawaii. It was definitely nice to get some sun and spend some time with my girlfriends on the beach. Waikiki kind of reminds me of Las Vegas without the gambling and the desert--a lot of unadventurous middle Americans.

IMG_2627

We even had a 22-year-old guy from Mississippi tell us that there were only blacks and Mexicans where he lived...and that we should move there and recruit our peoples.

I would love to see some other islands and spend more time in the sun to fix my goofy running tans. This morning, J mentioned Thailand and Cambodia next winter--can't wait!! In the meantime, I'll be in Orlando (blech) and New Orleans for half of February.

IMG_2626

|

January 22, 2007, 1:43 pm

I have a very common Vietnamese first and last name. My yahoo email alias has my last name in it, but uses my family nickname, which is unique. My gmail address, however, uses my first and last name, so for the entire life of that email address, I've been getting emails from this idiotic group of friends down in SoCal. I constantly tell them to take me off their goddamn email list as I don't know any of them, but they keep sending me crap!! Their email conversations aren't even interesting--it consists of warning forwards (the kind that make my mom paranoid) and boring details about what they did this weekend.

Lesson learned: next time, stick with the old email alias. No more first name, last name combos.

Some good eats lately at Viognier:

Duck Board at Viognier

Thomas Keller's Ad Hoc (visit #2):

Ad Hoc visit #2: Almond Cake

And some weeknight food we cooked at home for friends (champagne shrimp pasta and sausage & potato puffs):

IMG_2558

IMG_2555

|

January 14, 2007, 9:41 pm

I was sick all last night and today. There should be some sort of rule where you can only get sick during the work week. In any case, I didn't get much studying done (30 mins, but I did memorize some key information which has been on repeat in my head all day) and I watched the first half of Season 1 of "How I Met Your Mother." NPH is HILARIOUS...and I appreciate the cameos from the Freaks & Geeks alum.

Saturday morning, I went for a 6 mile run...and all of the puddles of water in the park had frozen...FROZEN! It has been so cold that I've been wearing socks to bed--and I only wear socks to bed when I'm camping. It is just THAT cold. Thank god for heated seats.

I know that I just got back from Asia, but I'm going to Hawaii with the girls next week (for the first time). Honolulu, to be exact. Tell me what I shouldn't miss!

|

January 04, 2007, 8:28 pm

I've seen this on a few other peoples' blogs and hopefully I can remember all the places I've visited in 2006:

  • Las Vegas, NV
  • Boston, MA
  • Chicago, IL (3x)
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • Lake Tahoe, CA
  • Cloverdale, CA
  • Sonoma, CA
  • Healdsburg, CA
  • San Diego, CA
  • Seattle, WA
  • New York, NY
  • Taipei, Taiwan
  • Xiamen, China
  • Suzhou, China
  • Shanghai, China

Actually, the last two count as 2007. But I'll count them anyway for now. In the works for 2007...Hawaii, New Orleans, Orlando (blech), and a return trip to China...or maybe a virgin visit to Prague or Greece.

|

January 04, 2007, 7:23 am

I've been in China and Taiwan for the past week or so...7 plane rides in about as many days...and another flight home in a few days. It has been quite the adventure--many great stories to tell that nobody would believe...except I have J to verify the stories. Check out my flickr set for some more detail.

Xiamen, China

I think I had bronchitis while in China--Chinese medicine was pretty worthless. When we got back to Taiwan, we went into Watson's and got some Western medicine and immediately, my hacking cough has subsided.

Happy New Year everyone!

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact