knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2005-02-04, 8:49 a.m.

February 27, 2005

3:46pm I've been losing sleep over work, but this morning's run erased it all. Ran my first 5k race in Golden Gate Park, met some cool people, and beat the time I had set for myself. With the 15% coupon we got at the race, I went to Sports Basement and got myself a new pair of running shoes, which should correct my stride and stop the hip aches. There will be more races in my future in which I hope to continue to improve my time.

On the uphills, I noticed how well the uphill sprint training J had devised for us had prepared me...this is where I was able to pass the most people.

AND...I got U2 tickets! I wasn't able to get them at cost, but via a family hookup, got them significantly below asking price. Yay!

me and my cousins, early 1980s

early my bro eating peaches early 1980s

February 23, 2005

4:24pm Today started off on a bad foot when I got blamed for something that was not my responsibility. I spoke up, but there's a delicate line to toe so it doesn't appear like I am pointing fingers (although I am). The rest of the day has not gone so well either and my escalating frustrations with one coworker continue to roadblock my workday.

So I thought I'd take a moment to post some pictures since I hadn't done that in a while. However, the only pics available on this laptop are older ones. The two above are from when we went peach picking sometime in the early 80s, and the one below is a picture from a cousin's wedding that includes most of the cousins I often mention (minus 2 babies and 6 cousins).

I signed up for a 5k race Sunday morning. I hope it goes okay, as I've proven to myself a few times that I have a hard time running first thing in the morning.

most of my cousins 2 years ago

February 22, 2005

5:25pm I am screwed this week. RRRR...

February 14, 2005

5:41pm 80 fricken degrees here in Dallas! It was ready to rain when I left SF and because I am unable to pack for weather I can't immediately feel, I brought my winter coat with me. And I probably should have packed the mules instead of the boots.

Valentine's Day dinner won't be spent with J...rather, it will be spent with 11 older men...some of them the top doctors in their fields. It couldn't get more romantic than this! Ah well, at least someone is buying me foie gras and good wine.

February 11, 2005

10:40am

  • I have been in denial for years now, but this morning, as my toes were uncomfortably hitting the front of my shoes while walking around the corner to my car, I finally came to accept that I wear a 7.5 shoe--definitely not a 7. I've suspected this for a while, but didn't want to admit that I have big feet. At 5'2", a 7 shoe is already big...now they're even bigger!
  • Bikini training is going exceptionally well--the snowman look is gradually fading away. It is amazing what a change in diet can do (when supplemented with exercise). Exercise alone won't really do it, unless I'm doing the crazy 5-days-a-week of kickboxing of 2 years ago.

February 4, 2005

9:23am

Dear CW:

Oh, how I loathe you. Let me count the ways:
  • Only child. You are needy and require a lot of attention. You tell me all the details when I really only care whether it gets done or not. I don't need hourly updates.
  • I should not have to babysit a grown man.
  • You spend an hour arguing with me about why you don't have time to accomplish this task (THAT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY!) when you could have accomplished said task during the time spent telling me why you can't.
  • You are not the smartest person in the world like you think you are. Your skillset is outdated.
  • I don't care about your religion.
  • I don't care about your thesis.
Sincerely, LN

8:49am February is going to slide by, and I am nowhere near close to finish on all my projects that are due before I leave for DR with the girls. In a week I leave for Dallas, and then the week after I'm supposed to be in Chicago. Rather than fly home for four days just to fly east for a 2-hour meeting, I'm pondering other possibilities...NYC? More Chicago? Phoenix?

I'm up for review at work. I never like reviews. It is hard not to leave a little disappointed, even though the criticisms are minor and are supposed to help you do your job better.

In other news, I have been varying my workouts, taking vitamins, and adjusting my diet (eating out less, more salads, healthy snacks), and I'm slowly seeing the results. Of course, I measured myself and put in my calculations at MyBodyComp and it says I'm 25% fat!

Piperade was much tastier than Fringale. I would visit again.

We're having a party tonight. I'm excited.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact