knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-08-18, 1:35 p.m.

29 August 2003

10:35am

  • It is increasingly difficult to stay motivated at work these days. Will I ever find such an ideal work situation again?
  • I get too many magazines, so I canceled a few this morning:
    • National Geographic
    • InStyle (canceled)
    • Real Simple
    • Budget Travel
    • Self (canceled)
    That should be more manageable reading, especially since Self and InStyle were pretty useless to me anyway. I think I'll pay for Martha Stewart Living with my refunds.

27 August 2003

9:50am

  • Last night, I started on the cherries totebag I'm trying to make. Easily, my least favorite part of sewing is the pressing. I HATE HATE HATE ironing. My military school-trained boyfriend usually does all the ironing. But he wasn't around last night. And he doesn't mind pressing my shirts, but I think it would be pushing it to request that he iron flat pieces of fabric, which he knows I'm capable of. I just hate doing it.
  • Is anyone watching the Nick & Jessica reality show on MTV? I am, even though I can't stand her. The depths of her idiocy are amazing. Nick is one patient guy.
  • Saw Spellbound last night...it brought back memories of studying for the county spelling bee in 5th grade, where I incorrectly spelled "percale." But I was glad to be done with that and after the 5th grade, never entered another spelling bee. My mom tried to force me to study for it and I didn't want any extra homework. My parents even forced me to spell words into a cassette tape and listen to it in my sleep. I hated that shit, so I quit. My cousin won second place in the county spelling bee the following year (he lost on purpose because he wanted the TV instead of a trip to DC). And then a few years after that, my brother won the county bee and went to Washington DC. I think he placed in the top twenty. I know he didn't like it much either and didn't spend NEARLY as much time preparing as the other kids did. I felt sorry for the Indian kids. Those kids are going to poop out in college and turn into party animals. They always do.
  • I made cheese tortellini for dinner last night, too. Pasta always feels like rocks sitting in my stomach...which is why I hardly ever eat it.
  • I borrowed my cousin's CDs of David Sedaris reading Barrel Fever. Books on tape aren't going to work for me. I'm a terrible listener and tend to space out. I've always been a visual learner. In those comprehension tests as a kid, I always got 99th percentile on everything but the listening comprehension part, in which I'd score in the low 60s. I always forget to listen as my mind tends to wander off when people talk for too long.

25 August 2003

2:20pm I got to enjoy a little bit of summer during lunch today. I went to Poppy Fabrics and picked up the cherry print I was looking for and some red denim to make a tote bag. We'll see if I'm any good at this. If I am, I already have a pattern in mind for my next project. If I'm not, I'll add it to the list of hobbies I own supplies for but don't actually use. Poppy has some of the awesomest fabrics and the prices aren't bad either.

Afterwards, I stopped at Genova for a baguette, brie, pate, and cucumber salad. I had a summer picnic lunch at my desk. Yum!

p.s. My god I'm tan!

11:00am

  • I love hot August nights. Shorts, tank top, and flip flops...wandering through the sweltering city...everyone is outside. Sleeping in my underwear with the windows wide open, light breeze blowing in...I wish it was always summer. It sucks to be in the office today, knowing that I'll miss five hot summer days before I experience another one.
  • I am browner than I've been in a long time. I tan easily and spent a lot of time on the river this weekend. We camped out under the bright stars listening to the rushing of the water as we slept, crickets chirping. Whitewater rafting with my cousins was superfun and I want to move on to larger rapids next year. I'd even go again this year, if I could find anyone with the funds and enthusiasm to go with me. I didn't wrap myself around any rocks this year and never fell out of the boat once. I came home with just a bruise on my elbow, two bug bites, and a tan...not bad!
  • Searching for the perfect fabric is a pain. Was planning on making a tote bag for someone's birthday in September, but finding the appropriate print is proving to be a pain. At the fabric store on Haight (where I knew they carried what I wanted), they're out and won't get a new shipment until late September...too late for me. Will try Poppy this week. If that doesn't pan out, I'll have to find a Plan B. Anyone know where I can find cherry-printed fabric? Big red ones with green stems on a white background. Help!


Some MMA fighter in Vegas. Note the size of the guy's bicep vs. the size of J's head

22 August 2003

11:20am

  • I don't like these games, but I'm getting pretty good at them. Business lunch today. Too bad fun jobs don't pay.
  • Saw The Other Side of the Bed last night, a Spanish movie/musical that's part of the Sundance festival. The description doesn't make it sound very good, but it was a rather funny movie. I like the wit and irony. Other movies in Spanish I'd like to see soon: Don't Tempt Me and Dot the I. I like Gael Garcia Bernal.
  • Going river rafting with the cousins this weekend. Fun!
  • At a restaurant on Clement last night, a man in the adjacent booth sat down and started clipping his fingernails. AT A RESTAURANT! AROUND OTHER PEOPLES' FOOD! It didn't seem to bother anyone else, but I almost vomited. Thankfully, he stopped by the time my food came out. Cutting your nails should be something only done within the confines of your own home. That man was also an amazing shade of pink. I have no idea what it was, as it was pinker than a sunburn.

18 August 2003

1:45pm

  • So my manager was fired two weeks ago. Work has been miserable since. Been actively applying to other jobs. Contemplating simply quitting and moving back in with J until I find another job. Ideally, I'd keep my apartment and not the job, but that's financially not good. Not impossible, but not good. Plus moving is a pain.
  • I hurt my hip, so no running for a while. Not sure what's wrong with it, but I can't sleep on it, can only sit in certain positions because of it, and stairs aggravates it.
  • Vegas was awesome! At the fight, Mike Tyson tried to get in on some of the action by stepping into the ring and challenging Bob Sapp (who is larger than King Kong). Getting drunk and yelling obscenities at fighters is quite fun. The rest of Vegas (including spa treatment at Treasure Island) was fun, too. A well-timed vacation. Next time, I won't use travelocity, however. Booked hotel & flights for three people, but when I got to the hotel, I had to pay a third person supplement, which in my opinion, should be covered in the original price. Flying direct next time, too.
  • Saw the hairiest baby on the flight back. An infant with more hair on her head than me and a monobrow. Poor kid.
  • Overheard on a tram in Salt Lake City: "African-Americans can't sweat. They don't know how! But don't worry, they're teaching them how to do so down at the Y." WHAT THE FUCK?!
  • I'm cranky. RRR!
  • Making tamarind-based catfish soup tonight. Yummy. And some sauteed eggplant, yellow squash, mushrooms, and garlic. After twenty-five years of hating eggplant, I finally like it now. Only the Chinese and Japanese variety, though.
  • I like liver in all forms.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact