knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-08-04, 1:13 p.m.

8 August 2003

10:05am

  • Sometimes, we all need a kick in the ass to get us going where we already knew we needed to go. For me, that came yesterday. Time to look for a new job. It will most probably mean a paycut, but getting out of this industry has been my intention for a while. Now, it is a priority.
  • The kogal movie last night was surprisingly good: multiple plot lines, great character development, social critique...very good and took my mind off of my current situation.
  • No, I didn't get laid off. But it is definitely time to move on.
  • Thanks to my friends last night who made me laugh.

rock'n'bowl (photo by Ed)

7 August 2003

1:10pm

  • Since I've been running fairly regularly at the track, I'm starting to recognize people. There's a man who wears a Hulk t-shirt, baseball cap, and walkman that rifles through the garbage collecting the points on the back of snack-sized chip bags. He reminds me of this kid at Cal I ran into once. He was in the room before my class started and in the room after. The entire time, he was picking invisible particles off the floor and snorting them. Speaking of characters, I wonder what happened to that gargantuan man on Telegraph who pops into various establishments roars, flexes, and does handstands/pushups.
  • Going to watch Bounce Ko Gals tonight, a social satire about young Japanese sluts: the topic of my Senior Sociology thesis three years ago at Cal.
  • Yesterday, I went to the local nailshop for a pedicure. When I go to these places, I always make sure to pay in cash so that they don't find out that I'm Vietnamese. That way, I don't blow my cover and can listen in on conversations. This was the first time I've heard anything good, though. The older women were coaching a younger one on how to give a proper blowjob. And then there was the shit-talking about various clients they were working on. Don't be paranoid, though. In the years I've been incognito at nail salons, this is the first time I've ever heard anything remotely interesting.

4 August 2003

1:25pm

  • Ran to, at, and from Kezar Stadium on Friday before I went out (to officially kick off birthday month). Running in the city is much more fun than running in El Cerrito--better people watching and more competition. I'm rather competitive, so its a better workout for me to have people around to "run against" (even though none of these people are aware that we're racing). It keeps me motivated. Running in El Cerrito, my only competition is cars, old people, and roadkill. Uninspiring!
  • After my run, I packed some booze to go and loaded up on the MUNI ride to my destination.
  • Hooray for birthday month! I have great friends. I forgot to put the batteries back into my digital camera, so no pictures. Vegas in less than two weeks!
  • J called Friday night to tell me that Alex Gong had been shot and killed. I didn't really believe him, but the big screen TV outside the karaoke place confirmed his news. I probably won't be kickboxing until Winter (at the very earliest), but I wonder how people at my gym reacted. Its quite a blow to Bay Area kickboxing.
  • I have a new appreciation for (Japanese or Chinese) eggplant. I'm going to try to make some eggplant curry tonight.
  • I hadn't seen my aunt in almost three weeks. In that time, she's lost all her hair to chemo. I hope she's doing okay. I don't trust my parents to give me any sort of negative information. And unfortunately, they are the main sources of information these days.
  • Someone tried to break into J's Integra last weekend, but the neighbor heard the commotion and scared away the culprits just after his car had been entered. I'm curious as to what would have happened if the neighbor hadn't caught the thieves in the act, since his car automatically shuts off if the access code isn't punched in after the car is started. Two years ago when his car was broken in to, we found the car a block down the street, thanks to the alarm. Anyway, to thank them, we picked up various pastries from Noe Valley Bakery (fruit tart, berry cheesecake, lemon meringue tart, and berry crumble). Apparently, they're never home. So a week later, unable to deliver the goods, we tasted them, expecting them to have spoiled. A week later, they're still delicious. Just imagine how they would have tasted fresh! Needless to say, this is my new favorite bakery. They have awesome gingersnaps, too.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact