knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2005-08-10, 9:11 a.m.

August 29, 2005

3:00pm

the view from our deck

  • Went up to the Russian River Valley with my cousins this weekend for some relaxing, drinking, and hanging out. The area is beautiful, although a little bit scary--our next door neighbor lived in a tiny cabin/shack and all he had on his property was a wood chipper and a port-o-potty. Our cabin itself appears to have been built by Sara Winchester...odd layout, doors that led to nowhere, and two bedrooms on the bottom floor that resembled jail cells, complete with doors that only locked from the outside.
  • Successfully ran 8 miles on one of the local trails--yay! Of course, it did hurt quite a bit by the end, but I'm only 5 miles from a half marathon...which is 7 or 8 weeks away.
  • Visited the Korbel and Martinelli wineries...picked up some really good ones at Martinelli--who knew? Apparently, their winemaker (a woman) is one of the top 5 in the world. In the Bay Area, only Boulevard and French Laundry serve their wines. I'd like to go up to the Russian River area again and do some more tastings.
  • Ate a lot of crab and drank a lot of wine.

August 25, 2005

4:20pm Unorganized thoughts:

  • I love running in SF. At any given time of day, I will always encounter at least a dozen other runners on the road. On the weekends, I encounter even more.
  • Our new couch finally arrived!

    before after
  • And we finally got some shelving for the pantry, so next weekend, we'll pull out everything in there, repaint, and then reorganize. It should free up a lot of storage space.
  • I did repaint that extra coat on my wall. It looks much better now.
  • I'm heading up to Russian River tomorrow for a nice relaxing weekend. Aside from 8 miles on a trail I've mapped out for Saturday morning, it will be a weekend of eating and drinking with my cousins. Yay!
  • I've had a few good and not-so-good dinners recently: Myth (good), La Suite (not good), and C&L Steakhouse (not that great either). Check out SF Survey for more of my restaurant reviews. I'm trying to win a dining certificate (I read this girl's blog who has won twice already).
August 15, 2005

5:24pm I painted my room this weekend:

After

It is nice how a little bit of color can totally change a room. One coat of grey primer, two coats of red...it probably could have used one more coat of red, but my arms were TIRED!!!

August 10, 2005

2:55pm J took me down to Monterey for my birthday. It was fun:

clouds on 17 mile drive

near sunset on 17 mile drive, monterey

driving home

Haven't been doing much else aside from working, running, and eating.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact