knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2004-04-07, 5:20 p.m.

13 April 2004

5:46pm GODDAMNIT! I lost the 6- to 4-pin firewire adapter for my iPod...and I haven't loaded my full selection of music yet and now I'm screwed. Does anyone not need theirs? Please email me if you don't need yours. ARGH!

12 April 2004

3:15pm I hate waking up early, but I love the tranquility of morning. We're dogsitting, so I woke up before 6am to take the dog on her walk so she wouldn't poop or peep on my carpet. At this hour, there aren't as many cars whizzing by, no screaming drunkards from the bar across the street...just me, the dog, and the cold, crisp air. It reminds me of all the early mornings in high school when I rowed...I don't miss waking up early, but I do miss the calm. I need a lot of alone time...even if it is in the middle of the city.

This weekend was quite hectic due to the craziness that is J's mom. But we made up for it Sunday by taking a long walk with the dog from Japantown, through Pacific Heights, and to the Marina. We discovered a Catholic church with a dancing priest (complete with backup dancers), walked by the beautiful mansions of Pacific Heights, through the Union Street Easter parade, and on to the Marina, where I always feel like a foreigner in the very city I call home.

9 April 2004

10:17am I much prefer being alone rather than having to talk to someone I don't know. I guess that's one of the things I love about J--he can befriend a flower pot in under 30 seconds. I'm in the mood to shut myself away for the weekend and hang out alone (with the iPod). Of course, roommates and boyfriends are exempt. I would also like to eat some more an kimo.

7 April 2004

5:21pm Food lately:

  • Koi Palace: I've been obsessed with shao lung bao and one of the best I've found so far is here. The rest of the dim sum is excellent too...we've gone there the last three weekends in a row, waited the long wait, and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Gotta make a trip down to Ding Tai Fung in Arcadia--nothing compares, but substitutes will do for now. Other places for pretty good shao lung bao in the Bay Area: 168 and Daimo (both at the Pacific East Mall in Richmond). I've also got some frozen shao lung bao from the Shangainese restaurant at the same mall, but haven't had a chance to cook them yet.
  • Overrated: House of Nanking and Ton Kiang. Asian food catering to American tastes is just a disaster.
I got my (20 GB) iPod last night! Now I just need to figure out how to work it...

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact