knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2004-04-18, 12:03 p.m.

18 April 2004

12:38pm At last...some pictures from Taiwan. My friend, who has been spending a lot of time in Taipei and Shanghai on business, complimented me on my Mandarin the other day...of course all the Mandarin I know has to do with food and getting myself fed.


One of the kids from the English camp. This popular pose is second only to the ubiquitous peace sign.


Night market near J's mom's house where you point at things speared on a stick (my favorites were chicken hearts, butts, and gizzards) and then the man deep fries it for you. YUM! I also learned how to say "a little bit spicy" from this man: lah ee...


Wax apples, lien oo (in Mandarin), or ma.n (in Vietnamese). Crispier than the crispiest apple and a million times juicier. I could eat these all day long...too bad you can't find any in the U.S.




Ximen Ding...the district where all the hip youth hang out and where some of the best shopping and people watching is.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact