knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2004-11-05, 4:38 p.m.

November 23, 2004

10:13pm Although some people don't believe me, I'm a loner by nature. I need to spend a few hours by myself (or at least not talking to anyone) every day. Thus, when people encroach upon this time, it can get very ugly. The awesome thing about J is that he doesn't feel the need to talk to me all the time. Two loners can share the same space and be both alone and together. The bus passing by...motorcycles screaming through the tunnel...heels hitting the pavement....the clacking of my keyboard and his occasional chuckle...the silence is lovely.

I really don't like packing...even though I pack from a list, I always feel like I'm going to forget something (which I always do) or pack the wrong things (which I also always do). Rain/snow in Chicago...it is going to be miserably cold. I'm not built for that kind of weather.

I'm ready to run a 5k...I'm going to sign up for one in February. By June, hopefully I'll be ready for a 10k. I'm not fast, but this is the most I've ever run in my life...I'm averaging about 15-20 miles a week. No shinsplints either!

November 21, 2004

9:43pm Work has consumed my life in the past few weeks...3000+ square feet of exhibit space to coordinate, new releases announced, new products launched, and an S1 filed. Thursday night is a red-eye to Chicago, where the weather is going to be a miserable 38F. After all this passes, I will try not to discuss work anymore, although that's all I think about these days. I'm quite uninteresting. I get home from work, grab a snack, go to the gym, come home, make dinner, take a shower, and spend the last two hours on the couch...exhausted, relaxing...watching Gilmore Girls. Season 2 comes out December 7.

  • I retract my previous statements regarding fancy Vietnamese food. Three Seasons is pretty good. The garlic noodles, large shrimp, scallops, cha gio...tasty!
  • We're four years behind, but the new house pasttime is DDR.
  • Mangarosa (Brazilian/Italian) in North Beach was also very tasty. Foie Gras to start, and the chicken for dinner. Tasty cocktails too...although I think something I ate made me sick, as the vodka I drank afterwards was no more than my usual intake, yet I was spewing all night.
  • We beat Stanford! GO BEARS!
  • Our carton of eggs from Trader Joe's all featured mutant double yolks...twins!

November 9, 2004

1:17pm Haven't really been in the mood for talking lately. I just don't have anything to say. Maybe it is because my life these days revolves around work, exercise, and watching Gilmore Girls. I like the silence though. It is a nice change from the verbal diarrhea that normally passes my lips.

hang gliding above Rio

November 5, 2004

4:38pm Vacation does one good. Before I left for Brazil, I was a mess. The last year has dragged me down further than I ever thought possible. I don't know exactly what it is, after coming back from Brazil, I feel like a new person. Or maybe it is just because I've been too damn busy with work to dwell on things? I still miss my grandma and my aunt, but the thought of them doesn't make me cry randomly anymore. Yesterday, my mom mentioned that my aunt had passed away exactly two months before...yet it feels so long ago. Life moves too fast.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact