knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2002-09-03, 9:53 a.m.

27 September 2002

1:20pm Last night, I came home from the gym to find that he'd cooked me dinner--with wine, placesettings and everything! Very cute. I have the best boy. He also supplemented my car payment for this month--I'm trying to get rid of car debt as quickly as possible. It's all a part of the master plan.

Tonight, we're going over to a friend's house to watch UFC. I think I'll bring a book, as UFC is a little boring to me. They spend too much time grappling on the floor. A lot of the positions are very homoerotic, which make me giggle, because I bet most of those guys are vehement homophobes. Here's an article that he wrote for some mixed martial arts Web site on UFC fight predictions. He also just finished one for Pride. I think that's next weekend. I don't know. I only really enjoy watching K-1. UFC and Pride are kinda boring and waaaay bloody.

Have a great weekend y'all. It's my parents' 25th wedding anniversary! Hmmm...they dated for ELEVEN years before they got married. So then why are they in such a hurry for me to get married?

25 September 2002

10:20am Upon hearing where I went to college, people always ask me about my experience at Cal. "It's such a big school!"

Not really. After going to small private schools for twelve years (a whole nother story), Cal was a welcome change. I loved the size and fact that I could put on my sunglasses and pretend I didn't know anyone. But in reality, Cal isn't as big as the numbers imply. During my four years there, I always ran into someone I knew on campus. I could pretend I hadn't seen them, but I was never lost or alone. And two strangers that went to Cal during the same time frame will inevitably know some of the same people. I met a girl in my kickboxing class yesterday that knew a lot of the same people I did. I wouldn't be surprised if she also knew Tammy.

24 September 2002

11:20am It occurred to me this morning that all my overnight "business trips" have been within Northern California: Sacramento, Santa Clara, San Francisco, and Berkeley. I stayed at the Claremont this past weekend, and man, that place is a rip-off. My room was dirty: the shower was never cleaned (there was soap and half-used bottles of shampoo and conditioner from the previous guest), the carpet was stained, the furniture was dingy, the beds were saggy...The best thing about the Claremont was their bread pudding. Mmmmmm....Anyway, I wouldn't recommend staying there--waste of money. Spa service is a rip-off too.

And as a side-note, the most comfy hotel beds are at the Westin Santa Clara. down pillowtop, down pillows, down blanket...and fried calamari room service!

20 September 2002

9:55am link this guy

16 September 2002

8:53pm

double ick: double-jointed elbows and a huge huge swollen bug bite i got new shoes!

i got west nile! bugs love me. within five minutes of my arrival at camp, i got bitten. two days later, it's still pretty swollen. and yes, i know my elbows bend funny. it helped when i played volleyball in high school, though. made a great platform. and look! i got new shoes! (also have the exact same shoes in grey suede and red canvas...)

13 September 2002

2:30pm is five years later too late to apologize?

9:10am Wow! Four years sure flies by fast. For four years of outstanding service, I gave him a Gameboy Advance with a few games and power accessories. Maybe now, I will finally get my Gameboy Color back. Haha. I'm the best girlfriend ever!! And he got me an HP Photosmart 130 (it's smaller than a loaf of bread!!), to print all the photos I've been taking with the Canon S200 that he got for my birthday back in August. Yay!

Going camping this weekend with my family. Heehee!

10 September 2002

10:20am screwy things parents have said to kids (actually, adults now) i know:

  • "I can't believe this! You ASSHOLE! I hate you!" - to a 5-year-old child who accidentally dropped/broke a watermelon.
  • "I didn't want to have you guys. It was your dad's idea. I never wanted kids."
  • "[He] is my best looking child" - (from a mother to all five of her children)
  • "You were a mistake! Ahahahahahaha!" - (dad drunk and laughing)
  • "You are an only child because you were so difficult to deal with, we couldn't bear to do it again."
All parents scar their children. But to feel unwanted has got to be one of the worst feelings as a child. For the record, none of the above adults were my parents. They've made me feel plenty terrible, but never unwanted.

I'm in a crappy mood and the urge to run is strong. Summer should be year-round.

3 September 2002

10:10pm some pictures from this weekend:

this was actually last weekend friend with another friend's baby the corn stands alone it was a nice day. we bbq'd at baker beach

10:05am here's an a-to-z entry a la taryn hipp:

a) violated the rule i made for myself when i turned 23
b) i'm too old to throw up in public
c) but it happened anyway
d) more than once
e) i dropped off my best friend at the airport
f) i miss her already
g) massive selector (http://massiveselector.com) parties are fun because i always know a lot of people there
h) clubbing is never fun if you're in a small group
i) i like watching people dance
j) whether they're good or bad
k) spent saturday doing nothing but watching Trading Spaces and the Anna Nicole Smith show. trying not to throw up. and watching my best friend pack her life into two bags
l) my shit would NEVER fit into two bags
m) it was really, really hot on sunday. i love hot weather.
n) my friend and i almost got into a fight
o) we were outside of my car screaming at two bitches in a brand new mercedes
p) so angry, i was shaking. was ready to go back for my club
q) J (a girl, not my boyfriend) tried to drag the bitches out of their car, but they locked the door too quickly
r) they refused to go around our car, where i was trying to park. she wasn't even trying to park. she wouldn't go around, because she was stupid. i wasn't moving anywhere, because i was right.
s) they said they couldn't go around our car because she was pregnant (?!)
t) they threatened to call the police. which made us laugh.
u) when it all ended, the people outside the bar (which we were heading into) clapped.
v) mildly embarassing, but i was right.
w) i don't like the beach
x) i have pictures from the weekend but forgot to post them last night
y) i wish every weekend was a three-day weekend
z) there's another one coming up in october--yay!

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact