knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2002-08-02, 11:16 a.m.

26 August 2002

11:30am I don't like being cold. I hope September warms up. (It usually does). The one good thing about the Peninsula/South Bay area is the warmness. After 5pm, it's always foggy where I live, regardless of season. I don't know what genius decided to build a pool in such a climate.

23 August 2002

9:20am things in a nutshell:

  • getting hit on by the neighbor's (50-something year-old)asiaphile son, who asked if i spoke chinese, and tried to convince me to agree with his statement to his parents: "all asian women marry american men to divorce then, take all their money, and go back to their own countries." his parents told him to shut the hell up. i told him i'm not chinese, i work for my own damn money, and this is my fucking country. he still tried to get my number (didn't happen), and gave me his, with the caveat that he LOVES asian women and that he is very, very lonely because his 4th filipino wife is divorcing him and taking all his money. (VOMIT)
  • took my first conversational Spanish class last night. i keep mixing in the French. Mucho gusto, aussi. I know more French than I thought. the pace was frustrating, but i woke up this morning and realized that i'd actually learned something.
  • the urge to run away is very strong when his mom comes home. now that she will be around more often, i wonder how i will deal. saving money is very nice and allows me to pay off my loans and get a head start in saving. but if it gets insane, i'm out.
  • best friend is moving to NYC without me. I always thought that was in my future. It still is. just not NOW. *I'm* ready. But I still have to wait. After 4 years of resisting, i have resigned myself to the fact that i *DO* have a commitment, whether i want to admit it or not. no strings attached is an untrue statement.
  • digital camera rocks
  • things are changing. i am more resistant to change than i'd thought. i'm more lactose intolerant than i thought.
  • how much should be me, and how much should be we?

19 August 2002

I <3 Ray SefoJ and Wallid Ishmaelpavel winsbad pic of Sung Hi Lee (in white shirt above the guy with the yellow hat)me and Tito Ortiz

11:52am Got back from Vegas a few hours ago. I hadn't slept in so long--I was starting to see things.

Got better at blackjack during this trip. And when I start to lose, I just stick a $20 into the nickel slots and out usually comes $50-100. Quarter machines just eat my money.

The fight was awesome. The main tournament wasn't as exciting as last year--of the 8-man tourney, I think I'd only ever heard of 1 or 2 of them. However, watching some of the preliminary bouts and the super fights was fun. Watching Ernesto Hoost, who the Japanese fans have nicknamed "Mr. Perfect" because of his fighting style, really is fun to watch. His technique is impeccable. Bruce Buffer wasn't the announcer this year. I wonder why? No Perfect 10 girls this year either, but I still had a great time. Great seats, I yelled so much I lost my voice, and it was good for people watching.

Instead of sitting in the bleachers this year, I shelled out a little more for chairs. It's a fairly small venue, so any seat is a pretty good seat, but it's a little cramped in the bleachers. Saw Michael Jordan, Tito Ortiz, Ray Sefo, Sung Hi Lee, Garry Goodrich, Maurice Smith, the New York Badass...there were more people who J recognized, but I can't remember them all.

15 August 2002

11:45am sad. my best friend is moving to NYC at the end of the month. i'm sad that she's going to be so far away (she's never around here for long) and i'm jealous that she's moving there. new york has always been in my sights, but it just can't happen at the moment. but it will happen in this lifetime.

13 August 2002

11:55am it occured to me the other day that i tend to believe everything i read. the written word somehow carries more legitimacy to me--probably because i have terrible listening skills.

my terrible listening skills have been documented since first grade, when, every year, the school would submit us to standardized testing (SRA tests, whatever that stands for). i'd score in the 99th percentile in everything but the listening comprehension part, where i'd score a piddly 60-70%. i have neither the patience nor the attention span to listen. and i always got in trouble in school for not doing so.

nevermind. i was going to tie up this entry nicely, but nah, i'm hungry. my point was that i believe everything i read. i find comfort in words. i excel at scrabble and boggle. i can only remember things i've seen and read. i can't remember anything without writing it down. and i always forget to listen. i'll ask for directions and realize, at the end of it, that i forgot to listen to the directions. then i have to ask the person to write it down.

i saw a news special once on some sort of autism where these really young kids have amazing reading comprehension. 2-year-olds reading everything in sight. their handicap was that they could only relate to words. they couldn't relate to people, social situations, or the spoken word.

i'm not that bad though. i like to watch tv. and i like having conversations. but i tend to change the subject a lot, which sometimes bothers people.

12 August 2002

9:40am

ed in 'tj'

life has been good lately. almost fell asleep on the drive in to work this morning though.

8 August 2002

3pm I've always been a strong proponent of Birthday Week. However, up until this year, it's never happened that way. The celebration continues...birthday festivities planned for this weekend: 4--yay!

10:55am i've got direct tv, cable, tivo (still haven't figured it out though), xbox, dsl, playstation, ps2, n61 (or something)...life is grand. except the garbage men haven't dumped our trash for two weeks in a row. lazy bastards. oh, and i don't have everything quite right yet, but here are a few pictures from my birthday:

ginger cake!

birthday flowers

6 August 2002

9:00am Thank you all for your birthday wishes! I think it was one of the best birthdays I've had since I was a kid. Once I figure out how to load pictures off this camera, I'll post some pics. Probably won't be for a few days though.

5 August 2002

10:00am i went river rafting up at cache creek this weekend--so much fun! it is always really relaxing to go away for the weekend, spend some time out in the middle of nowhere, wallowing in your own filth. i did pretty good with the rapids, since it was my first time ever. we only fell out of the boat 3x. and, aside from the rocks hitting my ass, floating down the river in your lifevest is pretty fun.

J got me one of these! So...once I figure out how to upload and post, y'all will be seeing more images.

1 August 2002

11:30am crud. it's been insane around here lately. the urge to run away is strong. VERY strong. ugh. going river rafting this weekend. i don't swim.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact