knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2002-07-01, 3:54 p.m.

26 July 2002

8:50am Tomorrow afternoon, I'm going to my 8th grade class reunion. Normally, I wouldn't go to a reunion. I skipped my 5 year high school reunion because I'm still in contact with everyone from my high school years that I care to keep in contact with. And I hate smalltalk.

My 8th grade reunion is different. I grew up with these kids--we have 8 years of shared memories. I'm still in contact with 4-5 of the 30, but it will be good to see some of these people after 10 years. We've known each other since we were 5/6 years old.

so, in preparation, i dusted off my New Kids On The Block "Hangin' Tough" CD and listened to it on the way to work this morning.

22 July 2002

10:50am some tips for you clueless boys out there:

  • if you see a group of girls, pick one and go for it. don't go down the line asking each girl.
  • if i walk away from you mid-sentence, it means i'm not interested
  • if her friends keep pulling her away from you, don't follow
  • don't lurk
  • it's saturday night, i don't want to talk about work
boys in the marina seem more clueless than the boys i normally come across. maybe it's the foreign allure of the asian girl.

17 July 2002

12:15pm New Orleans is more fun than Vegas.

  • check out Gravy Train!!!!...saw them open for Bratmobile in New Orleans (they're a local band from El Sobrante) and they're fuckin rad. Download their mp3--"You Made Me Gay"
  • my pants are tight: oyster po'boys, muffalettas, raw oysters, crawfish, hurricanes, patout's, k-paul's, beignets, chicory coffee. gumbo, jambalaya, red beans and rice, liver and onions...
  • so much work to catch up on
  • more fun than Vegas, really
  • the flight back was too long. Felt like my head was going to implode
  • finished reading Managing Ignatius: The Lunacy of Lucky Dogs and Life in the Quarter. It's neato
  • the new Orishas CD isn't as good as their last
  • I dyed my hair black. My natural haircolor is a light black/dark brown...

9 July 2002

3:30pm I had a lot of trouble sleeping last night--kept waking up with the same thought running through my head. Ever get obsessed like that?

The Ashanti tribe in Ghana (where I went last year, remember?) refers to their members according to the day of the week in which they are born--for example, I would be called "Saturday," although my given name is "Lan." I could only name two of the days in Twi (the language of the Ashanti), and the urge to get up and call my friend to ask her the other five days kept waking me up. Well, that and the fact that I was always either too hot or too cold. Normally, I may have called her just to get a better night's sleep, but she's in Sweden until next week.

Heading to New Orleans tonight!

8 July 2002

4:45pm My mom went to go see The Green Dragon, on Saturday night in San Jose. She told me she cried. I think I'll go see it by myself when I get back from vacation.

2:20pm Today has been a sucky sucky day. On a better note, Orishas has a new album, Emigrante. The clips on Amazon sound good--I'll pick up a copy when I get back from vacation. Hell, I'm still groovin to the previous album.

12:50pm happy birthday scott!

i've come to the conclusion that i will never be satisfied with most of the pictures i take. mostly because i was there, and it is more interesting for me to see someone else's pictures, which are new to me. but here are a few snapshots from pride:







The rest are here.

3 July 2002

10:10am i like to spend time by myself. some people get lonely, but i find it unsettling if i don't get enough of it. it's not that i don't like to hang out with people...just that i need some time alone as well.

hooray! julie is coming up this weekend!

1 July 2002

4:05pm a few thoughts/memorable moments from the weekend:

  • Ginger Island is my new favorite restaurant. Their ginger cake spanks Park Chow's (REALLY!)
  • A girl asked me out on a date
  • For the third time ever, I sunburnt my shoulders, nose, and back at Sunday's Civic Center Gayfest. Because of one day, I'm stuck with bad tanlines through late winter--my tans tend to stick for a long, long time.
  • talking body (dys)functions with Scott's mom
  • lots and lots and lots of good pictures (need to remember to drop off to develop)
  • "cop-a-feel" booth (grab a girl's boobies for $3 donation)
  • the guy in the gay dunking booth spread his cheeks
  • Scott almost trampling someone's ratdog
  • volunteering at the Pink Party in the Castro, Saturday night, for the Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence. For three hours: "This is the exit! Enter in the center please! One way only!"
  • being trampled by drag queens, transsexuals shaking their boobies in my face, and gayboys copping a feel

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact