knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

September 27, 2006, 9:16 pm

there's a stowaway in my luggage!

When I have a bad day of work, I often fantasize about what else I could be doing with my time. Alternate occupations usually involve food or travel: cupcake baker, Anthony Bourdain's job, travel writer, cheese monger, food editor, wine marketeer...

I didn't choose this occupation. It kind of just happened...and I happen to be pretty good at it. However, I'm still waiting for the day that I figure out what I want to be when I grow up.

Lately, I've been thinking more and more about what I want to do moving forward--I'm kind of at a cross-roads. Most of the jobs in my field at the next level prefer an MBA. Or I can start over. Be a nurse? Not empathetic enough at this point in my life. Be a biologist? That's another undergrad degree. That leaves me with go to b-school or learn to bake. One makes much more sense than the other, but don't necessarily have to be mutually exclusive. If I get an MBA now, I will have the business background to make my cupcake business of the future fluorish!

Hmmm...cupcakes sounds nice.

I've consciously decided NOT to check my work email right now. There's nothing anyone can do until the morning anyway. Can't it be 2007 yet?!

|

September 25, 2006, 9:33 am

last wedding of the season

  • It has been quite hectic lately. Between training for a marathon, my increased job responsibilities (covering 2 turnovers indefinitely), increased commute time, and wedding season, I don't have much time or energy for anything else.
  • Heading to Chicago for half of this week. Unfortunately, the meeting is near the airport, so I won't be venturing downtown for any good eats. However, I'll be staying in the downtown area for 2 weeks in November, so I'll have plenty of time to further explore Chicago's restaurants.
  • Got reservations at Per Se in NYC, so I'll be heading there for a quick weekend jaunt with the girls in early November.
  • Re: work. I constantly have to remind myself that I can't worry about what I can't control. I just need to make it to December alive.
  • I need to plan a vacation so that I have something to look forward to.

|

September 12, 2006, 11:28 am

with two of my best girl friends

  • Same company, new office. My commute has doubled from 10 miles to 20 miles, and from 20-40 minutes to 45-80 minutes each way. I have much more time to think in the car now (I need Sirius radio)...good thing I enjoy driving my car...and my raise/promotion, which finally went through.
  • 4 weddings in 7 weeks. I guess I'm at that age.
  • Ran a personal best time (by 2 minutes) for a half marathon on Sunday. I had planned on running it as a training run but picked it up in the last 3 miles when I realized I could get a PR. Proud of my time, and proud that I could hold off racing in an actual race. Usually, I end up chasing people down when I shouldn't be going so fast.
  • First marathon in 5 weeks. Yikes! Before that, I have two 20 mile training runs--not so fun. You should see my ridiculous tan lines right now--I'm 17 different colors with freckles everywhere!

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact