knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-05-05, 11:28 a.m.

14 May 2003

3:05pm Its a melancholy day. Can't make up my mind. But I do know that I shouldn't go out on worknights because now I'm having a really hard time keeping my eyes open. Forget the gym today. I'm going home for a nap.

12 May 2003

12:15pm

  • Tied House sucks ass. Don't bother eating there. Everything tasted like salt lick.
  • New yarn store in Alameda, called appropriately, Yarn! (2311 Santa Clara St.)...I remembered the address wrong (went after kickboxing), but there was a street fair we happened upon and I ate the largest weiner in the world. Yes, chuckle.
  • One of my oldest friends' mom owns the Depot Cafe which is a tasty spot for breakfast or lunch. But I was there for a birthday dinner. I've known her since fifth grade. I got an email from my friend, a Marine in Iraq, whom I've known since I was five. Its good to hear that he's safe. I still can't believe he joined the Marines, though. This guy used to play Beatles songs on his accoustic guitar at parties.
  • Driving across the Bay Bridge on Saturday night, there were fireworks. Must be either KFOG or Pac Bell Park?


    buttons buttons everywhere!


    buttons buttons everywhere!

  • Made some button pins and magnets
  • Sake tasting at Takara. Ended up buying four large bottles of delicious sake. The women were very nice.
  • Ginger Island for dinner, where we had the ginger island fries, oysters, prime rib, seared scallops, salmon (there were three of us), and of course, ginger cake. The prime rib was the biggest thing I'd ever seen in my life, and I also had a few too many ginger-infused vodkas. Basically, lots of ginger slices in one of those Italian jars with a spigot (like the pineapple rum/vodka stuff at Roy's).
  • Went home and passed out. While I passed out, J had quite an interesting experience

9 May 2003

4:15pm Knitting Projects page is up. Its not completely done, but close.

Have a good weekend! I'm wearing a cute t-shirt today that makes me feel like a candy cane. Yippee yay!

7 May 2003

2:35pm I just found the COOLEST store! I wish I had the presence of mind to take pictures of it...

Exclusive Buttons
10252 San Pablo Ave
El Cerrito, CA 94530-3112
Phone:(510)524-5606


buttons buttons everywhere!

This guy has been selling and collecting buttons for the last sixty years. Millions and millions of buttons of all different kinds (bakelite, crystal, wood, plastic, fruits, toggles, porcelain) most on their original packaging (fifteen cents?!). I bought a bakelite thingie that I'll make into a pin for my cousin and some cherries which I'll make into earrings for a birthday and then I got a whole box of random buttons which I'll use to mosaic. This button store was so exciting! The owner has a lot of stories--so be ready to have your ear talked off...one story about a particular button included coolies and gangstas. This was quite an exciting find. So many buttons...it made me want to rip off everything with buttons in my closet and put on new ones!!


cherries for earrings and the big one for as a pin

6 May 2003

2:15pm



I finished my red fuzzy scarf! I'm starting a separate knitting projects page, which I haven't finished yet, so I won't go into details. But its so warm and fuzzy and soft that I've been wearing it around the house. Yesterday was pretty warm, but I wore it anyway.



The main reason I finished the scarf was because I needed the needles I was working on to start the felted bag. You can see what the bag is supposed to look like (only mine will only be the two colors you see on the skeins--Victorian Pink and Misty Blue. I finished the front pocket last night and started on the strap. My finger is really irritated from the wool, so either I'll start wearing a band-aid when I knit wool or I'll pick up some udder cream later (yes, it makes me snicker too).

I took the day off yesterday. This weekend was quite action-packed:

  • K-1 pay-per-view on a sixty-something inch HDTV, seven kinds of fast food (thanks Ed!) The fight was a little disappointing, with only one knockout, but fun nonetheless.
  • Dam Hoi (engagement party) for my cousin, in which the groom's family comes to the bride's house bearing gifts (tea, jewelry, cakes, pig)
  • Played with my three nieces. The six-week-old is adorable. The cutest newborn I've ever seen.
  • Sur Si Rang for soju with Julie and company. A stop at the liquor store and then to Do Re Mi, and ending the night at some Korean restaurant that wouldn't serve us soju in a teapot. What's the secret Korean password? My usual ambassador to Korean establishments done gone moved to Soeul
  • Painting pottery at Terra Mia, which was a lot more fun than I had anticipated
  • Dinner at Andalu which has the most delicious white and red sangrias I've ever tasted
  • Back to Do Re Mi with different people after stopping at a different liquor store
  • Peking Duck and Double-skin salad at my favorite Chinese restaurant, Great China
  • I love my friends and family.

2 May 2003

1:02pm Agh. I'm nerding out. Two days, three yarn stores (2 brick, 1 online), $80 worth of yarn, 1 unfinished project, 1 newly started project, 3 intended projects...all I need to do is grow a big fat ass and big flappy triceps and I'll fit the stereotype. Oh hey! And then I'd fit the demographic for my company's customer-base too.

Stopped at Article Pract today--my new favorite knitting store. The owner is much cooler there (younger and not old ladyish, peering down at me from behind her bifocals like at my other local knitting store). There's an article in the Bay Guardian that mentions cute boys knit here. Too bad I'm not in the market for sensitive boys who knit. I'd probably make them cry anyway. So I picked up 5 skeins of Lamb's Pride Worsted (3 skeins of Misty Blue, 2 skeins of Victorian pink) to make my first felted bag. I was able to cut my costs by reducing from 4 colors to 2 colors (easier on the eyes, anyway), and the skeins are $0.30 cheaper here than at the other store. Total spent on yarn for one bag: about $30. I also saw many other yarns I was tempted to buy...especially the GGH Goa. I really like the GGH stuff. I have plenty to keep me occupied for now, though.

I'll have to remember to raid my mom's button collection this weekend. I should start a separate knitting page. I'm sure most of you don't care to hear this gibberish.

Afterwards, I stopped at Genova, my favorite Italian deli which is right across the street. I had a craving for anchovies, so I ordered one of their special sandwiches. These aren't anchovies!! They're are sardines!! Oh well. Still is tasty. Tomorrow is my cousin's engagement party, where the groom's family comes to the bride's house with a bunch of red cellophane-wrapped gifts (tea, cookies, etc) and...a big roast pig. Mmmm...big roast pig...

K-1 live on pay-per-view tonight. Hooray! Violence!

1 May 2003

3:27pm Happy May! Took a ME day today. Picked up the Norah Jones CD. Went to the local yarn store and picked up some Lamb's Pride Superwash in Romantic Ruby (a cranberry with bluish glimmer) and #5 DPNS to start on these handwarmers from knitty. For who or what, I don't know. Its getting warm out, so either I'm getting a head start on Christmas presents or preparing myself for next winter. I'm not too fond of the knitting stuff for warmer weather. Hell, the whole reason I picked up knitting was because I wear a lot of winter scarves--I wanted to be able to customize them to my preference. Gotta think of some three or four-color combination of Lamb's Pride Worsted before I buy any yarn for that felted bag. Yarn for it should cost somewhere around $40. That is also a consideration...it may just end up too expensive to bother.



We had dinner at El Mansour (Moroccan food) a few weeks ago. This guy dancing with the bellydancer had me cracking up. White people can't dance.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact