knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2004-12-05, 6:20 p.m.

day after Christmas

December 29, 2004

11:04pm I had a dentist appointment this afternoon, which meant I left work a little bit early and had a small window of time to do some shopping afterwards:

  • Good news at the dentist--my gums are healthier than ever! But I REALLY REALLY don't like the hygienist. No wonder people fear the dentist...poking my gums with a sharp instrument...it is like getting six shots per tooth...OUCH! No hygienist has ever been so rough.
  • Afterwards, stopped at My Roommate's Closet--a boutique outlet on Union. Picked up a reconstructed t-shirt from John Eshaya.
  • Next stop, Blues Jean Bar. Picked up Joe's Jeans (Socialite Jean, Robinson wash) -- 20% off with mention of the Lucky promo. I love the concept of this place: tell them your size, what kind of cut/wash you like, and they give you a stack of jeans to try on. I also almost bought a pair of Frankie B's (the pocket details are cute!)...but had to restrain. Also found a pair of Yanuks that I liked. Maybe I'll order the Tricky Wash...when I get my referral bonus...next week.
  • Next stop, early dinner at Sushi Chardonnay--$20 for made-when-you-order all-you-can-eat sushi. A modest price for what you're getting...plus I'm not inclined to stuff myself to get my money's worth.
  • North Face Outlet, Berkeley--went to look for the Bandwidth bag for my laptop, which they didn't have at the store downtown, but the outlet only had it in red. Found the last Firewall bag in yellow at 30% off. Ideally, it would have been gray, but I really need a laptop bag that can accommodate all the other crap I carry around (both daily and when I travel). Both of my incase bags can only accommodate my Vaio, power cord, and maybe a few pens. I needed a bag that could accommodate paperwork, my Dell (not that I carry it around much), my purse and breakfast (so I don't look like a bag lady to and from the office)...plus having a backpack instead of a side carry bag make transport much easier on my body--even weight distribution! AND, I needed a new backpack anyway. I haven't bought one since junior year in high school...a purple Jansport. All in all, a good buy. More pockets/compartments than the Bandwidth too. Hell, I can carry BOTH laptops in this bag if I really want to.
  • New sheets from Bed, Bath, and Beyond--soft!
  • 2005 calendars for my room and my office, and the latest copy of The Economist--I am still trying to exercise my brain. Hopefully no snoring this time around.
  • Oh yes, and I got a Canon SD300 for Christmas (first photo posted above). Thus, I am selling my Canon S200 which I probably would have kept for another few years if Santa hadn't stopped by. Update! Sold in under 12 hours on Amazon.
  • All this rain makes me crave tea. Other rainy day accomplishments: cleaned out/organized hall closet, unpacked remaining boxes from last December's move, scrubbed kitchen floor, wiped down counters, vacuumed. Still to do: reorganize pantry, cupboards, and room closet. It also helps when my mail (ok, Netflix) is trapped in the mailbox.


December 28, 2004

9:43am 2004 has been quite the year. Many good things happened, tempered with many terrible events:

The Good:

  • Got a new job that I enjoy. Great product, industry, work, challenges, benefits, location, coworkers, etc.
  • Many first time travels:
    • to Taipei and tasted the best dumplings in the world.
    • to Orlando for work. A new experience and a new city I would never choose to go to on my own.
    • to Brasil, one of the most beautiful places I've ever been...and with my girlfriends!
    • to Chicago, for work. Definitely a city I would return to.
  • A repeat visit to NYC...and I canceled two flights to SoCal (although they were both for work)...I've spent more time on planes this year than I have in any other.
  • A great apartment in SF...the first time I've truly felt at home since I left my mom's house.
  • and celebrating 6 years with J :)
  • I finally enjoy running.
The Bad:
  • My grandpa died
  • My grandma died
  • My uncle died (the night of my grandma's burial)
  • My beloved aunt died
  • My dad had a stroke
More happened to me this year than has happened in any of the years past. On the surface, I've made a lot of progress both personally and professionally--but my family took a beating. Hopefully, 2005 will bring more smiles than tears.

Things to look forward to in 2005: more travels, more food, more friends. Also, I need to save more and set up my 401k.


December 25, 2004

3:23pm My dad had a stroke. He lost 80% of the vision in his left eye. This has been a long year. 2004, can you end soon please?

I really like Mighty Leaf African Nectar tea...but the entire line is awesome. Beautiful little fabric pouches filled with recognizable bits of herbs, fruits, etc. Flavorful and elegant.


December 23, 2004

9:14am In an effort to mentally challenge myself and increase my grasp of world knowledge, I am trying to read The Economist. Last night, I got 3/4 ways through the first spread...and was startled awake by J, who told me to get in bed and stop snoring. I think the magazine would be less intimidating if it followed the format of People...more space between the lines and lots interesting pictures. I will try again tonight.


December 20, 2004

8:57am Friends based around the globe are trickling in for the holidays...so this weekend was packed:

  • We got Tivo! For free! I'd like to add more memory to it and we also need to get a cable splitter so that I'm not confined to one channel while it is recording.
  • Rosewood (NB/Chinatown) and Blondie's (Mission) Friday night, followed by tacos at El Farolito.
  • Finished my Christmas shopping on Saturday...a packed 38 Geary and crowded Union Square make for a grumpy me. But, there's a method store downtown! Smells kinda funny in there though.
  • Monkey Bar (Mission/Potrero Hill) in the evening with my three best friends. There was a terrible brawl outside at the end of the evening, but otherwise, it was fun. I don't know why drunk apes/boys need to repeatedly stomp on someone's head when they're already down and unconscious.
  • Big breakfast on Sunday, followed by trip planning with the girls. We've decided on and purchased tickets for the Dominican Republic in March! I'm back in bikini training :)
  • Dinner with some high school friends at Cha Cha Cha. The long wait resulted in me drinking a lot of sangria on an empty stomach, but it was all fun.
Now, back to work for just four days. Yay! This is the first time since college I haven't had to work a lot during the holidays. At my previous company, the biggest show of the year was the first week of January. I like this job (for this reason and others).

at the company christmas party


December 13, 2004

9:44pm My hair is getting long...I can put it in a ponytail! Here's what's been on constant rotation on the iPod lately:

  • Rilo Kiley - More Adventurous
  • Rilo Kiley - The Execution of All Things
  • Apollo - Dancehall Mix
  • Jazz on Shuffle (mostly Astrud Gilberto, Joao Gilberto, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Louis Armstrong, and Ella Fitzgerald)
  • Erykah Badu (all albums on shuffle)
  • Patsy Cline - Best of
  • Michael Jackson - Best of
  • Joss Stone - Soul Sessions
Oh, and jeans are 20% off at Blues Jean Bar between now and the end of the year if you mention Lucky. I think I'll pick up a pair of the Joe's Socialite jeans.

my first birthday


December 10, 2004

9:01am I took a cooking class last night (French Bistro cuisine) and remembered what it was like to be in class again...annoyed and frustrated by the pace of the class and stupidity of those around me. I hated most of my classes in school due to the lack of a challenge. My parents, however valued the Catholic education I was getting and didn't put me in a more challenging program. So, until college, I spent a lot of time reading books strategically hidden in my lap, reading ahead, staring out the window, and mouthing off. I was a pretty obnoxious student...but only because I was bored!

I was reminded that I'm much better off where I am now...surrounded by intelligent, engaging people and working at my own pace. But I did learn how to make a creme caramel.

view of Michigan Ave from my hotel room


December 6, 2004

7:13pm

  • My hair is getting long...brushed my hair for the first time in five years today.
  • Stopped in at the Blues Jean Bar on Union St. over the weekend...I'd read about it in Lucky and thought I'd stop in. Its awesome!! All the brands (Earl, Frankie B, Joe's, Seven, AG) without having to go from boutique to boutique. Just tell the woman behind the bar what kind of fit you're looking for, what size you are, and you'll end up with a three foot stack of jeans to try on. I think I'll go back when I get my bonus to pick up a pair of Joe's Jeans.
  • Had a fantastic time in Chicago, despite catching a cold and working the show floor. Some highlights:
    • Japonais - Delicious sushi, toro that melts in your mouth, kobe beef carpaccio to die for, a great wine and sake selection...all on the company. So good we went there twice.
    • Fogo de Chao - A Brazilian churrasceria just like the one in Rio. And they had awesome pao de quiejo (cheese bread) and an excellent salad bar.
    • MK - Awesome foie gras and sweetbreads
    • Went to Second City, breeding ground for many SNL alumni
    • Stayed at the Westin right on Michigan Ave's Magnificent Mile...across the street from H&M!!
    • Le Passage - Hot venue with good music

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact