knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact

me: F/28/SF, CA

AIM: venguyen
y!: slinkstar

Archives:
Feb 2002 - current

more? 1998-2002 archives
available by request

Elsewhere:
training log
50 in 365
joel
twobadapples
tammyloh
lgm
phase five
www.flickr.com
venguyen's photos More of venguyen's photos

Upcoming Runs:
Weekly DSE Runs
7/29 - SF 1/2 Marathon
10/14 - SJ Rock n Roll 1/2 M
Need to find some more races

curious?
my amazon wishlist

2003-01-07, 11:43 a.m.

28 January 2003

10:40am i learned to knit last night. i'm cool! also bought tickets for amsterdam/paris/spain at the end of march. they went down $130. yay!

27 January 2003

11:20am friday afternoon, at aqua, i had my (second) best meal ever. (best meal ever was at fook yuen.) according to anthony bourdain, best meals aren't just about what you're eating, but also about the setting, company, etc...

left work early to join two good friends for a leisurely three hour lunch... instead of ordering from the Dine About Town menu (as originally intended), we ended up with the 5-course tasting menu with wine pairing. courses (or what i can remember):

  • cream of cauliflower soup with shaved truffles paired with french white wine
  • dungeoness crab cake. think it was a white wine
  • some sort of white fish in a miso broth with shrimp dumpling. think it was a pinot noir from sonoma
  • bacon wrapped scallop with another tasty red wine. bacon makes everything delicious
  • chocolate lava cake with coffee ice cream paired with a yucky dessert wine which tasted like raisins
so good. afterwards, we stopped at e & o trading company for a fruity drink. almost ready to head home, my friend and i decided instead to head towards 111 Minna where i stayed longer than i probably should have. thank god i have the nicest boyfriend in the world who drove all the way into sf to pick me up and put me to bed with a bucket by my side.

23 January 2003

3:48pm i'm a gremlin. my headphones are broken, my palm won't sync, and i dropped my mouse (which popped one of the vital pieces out and subsequently rendered it useless). oh well. american idol is hilarious.

22 January 2003

4:25pm i'm skipping the gym today. i hate that feeling of guilt which stems from skipping a workout, but sometimes it just feels better not to. sometimes i push myself and those around me too hard. i have high expectations of myself and those around me. but i'm also pretty fuckin lazy.

21 January 2003

4:45pm Thanks to my amazon.com Visa, I just got two new CDs for $3.97. How? For every $2,500 I put on the Visa (which I pay off monthly), I get a $25 amazon.com gift certificate. No annual fees...the only drawback is that its not connected directly to my checking account. But I still think its nifty. I never use my Capital One card anymore (which I initially got only because of the cool designs). I just use this one and my bank's Visa. MisterBill tells me its good to have lots of credit anyway. As long as I don't go nuts.

20 January 2003

9:05am it has only taken me two years to adjust, but i can finally hang out with friends on work nights without completely destroying myself and having to call in sick.

i'm a fatass:

  • matterhorn on friday night with the cousins for fondue. we had the oh-la-la (camembert and some other french cheeses), the smoky one (full of smoked cheeses. don't get it. sounds good, but its not.), and the bacchus (beef/broth fondue). tasty stuff. and the silver cove pinot noir was also tasty.
  • cheap wine ($8.99!) on saturday night: pepperwood grove pinot noir 1999
  • last night, dine about town at Roy's Restaurant. Good food, good wine (some Australian blend of Cab/Merlot), good hawaiian martini. Made for some interesting drunken dreams, last night.
  • not food related, but also cleaned out my room/closet and bathroom. getting rid of clothes/shoes i don't wear anymore, expired medication/vitamins, and old papers. have yet to tackle the storage area (formerly a hindu prayer room) and our living room/computer area. next weekend, i'll start listing sellable things on ebay and donate the rest. so far, i'm donating a bag about 2.5 sleeping bags high/wide full of clothes. i actually don't own as much junk as i thought. oh wait. there are more boxes in the poolhouse i've forgotten about. i should try to do this at least once a year.
More plans for more food later this week. Definitely not part of my budget, but oh well. Almost bought a laptop this weekend. Will probably wait until next month. Not very articulate this morning. Goodbye.

10 January 2003

11:25am as i semi-suspected, yoga kind of smells like stinky hippie. it definitely tries my patience (some guy was talking about going on a month-long retreat where he does not talk and just meditates all day--doesn't he have a job?? not to mention...that sounds more like punishment, to me). i like my teacher, though. and it is a good complement to kickboxing--yoga teaches my muscles to do the exact opposite of what i am taught in kickboxing. surprisingly, i'm very, very sore. i just hope i don't hurt myself, because i'm a very competitive person.

my open-jawed flight to amsterdam is only $550!!

9 January 2003

11:45am still good:

  • last night's dinner, today's lunch, AND tonight's dinner (for both me and J!!) for only $13: four vietnamese sandwiches and three rice plates
  • i've got two trips planned for 2003 (amsterdam/spain--tickets to be bought very soon; brazil). must start cracking on selling my crap on ebay to supplement my expenses.
  • yoga begins tonight
  • knitting classes booked
  • i've been attending kickboxing classes regularly (my abs are sore)
  • i've been reading my personal finance book and have calculated my net worth (calculating monthly/yearly expenses is more difficult)--according to ernst & young, i'm in a good place. that's comforting to know.
  • my car is washed and vacuumed. new door panels (covered by warranty!) have been ordered. gotta go get an oil change soon and clean out my trunk.
  • heading up to tahoe this weekend: quality time with friends.
  • only two more weeks before the craziness at work ends
for now, my ducks are in a row. as long as i don't visit my parents, of course.

7 January 2003

11:45am so far so good on the new year's resolutions (they are intertwined). i've been packing my lunch every day to work, haven't gone out to eat at all (except sunday night, which is allowed), i have no cash, and i haven't gone to the ATM in over two weeks. i'm going to a trial yoga class on thursday to learn patience (but if it smells like hippie, then i am leaving immediately), and i should get this knitting class thing straightened out soon. hmmm...while i'm on a roll, i should also study spanish more often, clean out my closet, sell things on ebay, and finally read that personal finance book my friend gave me.

things haven't been so good lately, and my worries have been creeping into my dreams. i hate when that happens. there is even turmoil at my gym. but at least i still get to work out. i'm just unsure how things will pan out over the next month. although the gym is the least of my worries, it affects me because i need a good sweaty workout to maintain my balance. i don't anticipate that yoga will quite fulfill that need.

|

knitting projects | journal | guestbook | contact